YSM pianists take home prizes in San Antonio International Piano Competition

Pianist Lo-An Lin, a student of Hung-Kuan Chen, took home the Gold Medal and the prize for best performance of a Baroque work at the 2012 San Antonio International Piano Competition this past weekend.

Mei Rui ’06MM, ’07AD earned Special Recognition and the prize for best performance of a Classical work.

As the Gold Medal winner, Lin receives not only a cash prize but a performance with the San Antonio Symphony, a solo recital performance at the Music from St. Marks concert series, a week of chamber music concerts with the Cactus Pear Music Festival, and a performance opportunity with the Fredericksburg Music Club.

The competition, which was held October 14–21 in San Antonio, Texas, is open to pianists of all nationalities between the ages of 20 and 32. The complete list of winners is posted here.

This year’s competition included the world premiere of a work commissioned from composer Paul Moravec. Santiago Rodriguez was the chair of the jury; the other members were Lita Guerra, Boris Slutsky, Jeffrey Swann, and Ilana Vered. MORE

Published October 22, 2012
Share This Comments

Yale Philharmonia performs Nov. 1

Update, 10/31/2012: The performance of Koetsier’s Concertino, featuring the Handsome Dans Trombone Quartet, has been postponed to the Philharmonia’s January concert.

The Yale School of Music presents the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale on Thursday, November 1, 2012. Shinik Hahm will conduct the orchestra, and the Handsome Dans Trombone Quartet will be the featured ensemble.

Emmanuel Chabrier’s lively España starts off the evening. The orchestral rhapsody showcases a variety of sounds and textures, from flowing melodies to rhythmic dialogues.

The program continues with a performance of Jan Koetsier’s Concertino for trombone quartet and string orchestra. The performance features the Handsome Dans Trombone Quartet, one of the winners of this  year’s Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition. The members of the quartet are Timothy Hilgert, Hana Beloglavec, Benjamin Firer, and Jeffrey Arredondo.

Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 2, a classic of the Russian symphonic tradition, concludes the concert. Its four movements form a dramatic sequence, with a stormy beginning leading to a melodic climax that brings back the prominent motifs threaded throughout the piece.

The concert takes place at 8 pm in Woolsey Hall (500 College Street, New Haven). Admission is free, and no tickets are required. MORE

Published October 22, 2012
Share This Comments