[ Faculty ]

David Lang nominated for Golden Globe Award

Lang earns nomination in the category of best original song for his "Simple Song No. 3"
December 15, 2015
David Lang, composer

David Lang, composer

This year’s Golden Globe nominations include a Yale School of Music faculty member: composer David Lang was nominated for his Simple Song No. 3 in the category of best original song.  The song, which was written as part of the score to the film “Youth,” is nominated among several trendy, chart-topping titles, including One Kind of Love, from Love and Mercy; See You Again, from Furious 7; and Writing’s on the Wall from Spectre. Lang wrote both the lyrics and the music to the song.

Youth, which stars Michael Caine and Harvey Keitel, is the story of a retired composer and conductor who, while on holiday with his best friend in the Swiss Alps, receives an invitation from Queen Elizabeth II to perform for Prince Philip’s birthday. The film has been described as exploring the eternal struggle of age and youth, the past and future, and life and death, as Caine and Keitel reflect on their lives.

The 2016 Golden Globe Awards will take place on January 10, 2016, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.  The event will be broadcast live beginning at 5:00 pm PST / 8:00 pm EST. 

COMMENTS ( 2 )

Congrats David! We found out our friends at CRAS have 38 graduates receiving credits for the upcoming Grammys so we know the feeling! (Heres our post on that – http://www.audiorecordingschool.com/blog/58th-grammy-awards-2015/)

December 16th, 2015 | TJ

Golden Globe Awards 2016 Live Stream || @ On Sunday January 10, 2016 set the date for the 73rd Annual Golden Globe Awards by The Hollywood Foreign Press Association. American Tv Channel NBC will air the live telecast from 5-8 p.m. (PT) and 8-11 p.m. (ET) from the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills.

http://goldenglobeawards2016livestream.com/

December 20th, 2015 | Mike David