News > Students, Faculty + Alumni
Back to News Browse
Students, Faculty + Alumni

Winners of the 2010 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition Announced

The Yale School of Music is pleased to announce the results of the 2010 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition. The competition took place on Saturday, April 10, and featured instrumentalists and vocalists selected by the faculty through departmental preliminaries.

The three guest judges for this year’s competition were Julia Lichten, professor of cello at  the Manhattan School of Music and SUNY Purchase, and a member of Orpheus; Paul Rutman, professor of piano at The Hartt School; and Carol Wincenc, professor of flute at the Juilliard School and SUNY Stony Brook.

The three winners will appear as soloists with the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale next season. The 2010 winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Nathaniel Chase Koussevitsky: Double Bass Concerto

Carl Oswald Strauss: Oboe Concerto

Tyler Simpson Strauss: Notturno

First Honorable Mention (in case one of the winners cannot perform with Philharmonia next season)

Soo Ryun Baek Sibelius: Violin Concerto

Honorable Mention:

Marianna Prjevalskaya Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2

Achilles Liarmakopoulos Grondahl: Trombone Concerto

The judges were extremely impressed with the high level of performance of everyone involved, and found it difficult to choose just three winners.