Grad Night with the Yale Philharmonia

Adrian Slywotzky ’11MM conducting the Yale Philharmonia.

All Yale graduate students are invited to come out for the last Yale Philharmonia concert of the year.

Adrian Slywotzky and Yang Jiao, the graduate conductors at the School of Music, will lead the Yale Philharmonia in an all-Beethoven concert. Slywotzky will conduct Beethoven’s Sixth Symphony in F major (“Pastoral”), and Yang Jiao will lead the orchestra in the iconic Fifth Symphony in C minor.

The concert starts at 5 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, corner of Wall Street).

After the concert, take a break for dinner and then bring your concert program to GPSCY for free cover, free dessert, and drink specials in the Lounge beginning at 8pm.

The event is free and tickets are not required, but a block of seats will be reserved for graduate and professional students, post-docs, and friends. Just let the usher know you are attending Grad Night.

RSVP on Facebook HERE.

Click HERE for more info on the concert.

Published April 5, 2011
Share This Comments

New Music New Haven features the Pulitzer Prize-winning String Quartet No. 2 by Aaron Jay Kernis

“A composer of real mastery and individuality.”
–The New York Times

The Yale School of Music presents a New Music New Haven concert on Thursday, April 28, 2011 at 8 pm at Trinity Lutheran Church (292 Orange Street, New Haven). The concert will feature faculty composer Aaron Jay Kernis, whose String Quartet No. 2, musica instrumentalis, will be performed by the Jasper Quartet. musica instrumentalis is the piece that won Kernis the Pulitzer Prize in 1998. Kernis has also won such accolades as the Grawemeyer Award and the Rome Prize.

The Jasper Quartet, currently in residence at the Oberlin Conservatory and the Caramoor Center for the Arts, is familiar to New Haven audiences from its two years as the graduate quartet-in-residence at the Yale School of Music (2008–2010).

The first half of the concert will feature music by graduate composers, beginning with Justin Tierney’s Fission for solo celeste (the instrument heard in Tchaikovksy’s “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy”) and a piece by Andy Akiho for flute and marimba.

The Yale Camerata, directed by Marguerite L. Brooks, will sing choral music by Jordan Kuspa and Reena Esmail. Kuspa’s A Dream within a Dream is for four-part mixed choir. Esmail’s White Key for eight-part choir is based on Carol Muske-Dukes’s poem of the same name. Says Esmail, “White Key evokes the feeling of suspension. A woman makes the difficult journey by plane back to her home after receiving the news of her husband’s sudden death. As she is suspended in the air between two cities, she is also suspended between two lives, between a beautiful past and the uncertain present.”


Published April 5, 2011
Share This Comments

Masaaki Suzuki gives a solo harpsichord recital at the Collection April 26

“Astonishingly beautiful, even glittering, harpsichord playing and sound.”
—BBC Music Magazine

The Yale School of Music presents a solo harpsichord recital by the conductor and keyboardist Masaaki Suzuki on Tuesday, April 26, 2011 at 5 pm at the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments (15 Hillhouse Avenue, New Haven).

photo by Marco Borggreve

Since joining the Yale faculty in 2009, Suzuki has won over New Haven audiences with his conducting of Yale Schola Cantorum as well as Bach Collegium Japan, the ensemble he founded over twenty years ago. He also performs regularly on both harpsichord and organ. In this recital, he will play music from France, England, and Germany, with compositions by Louis Couperin (the uncle of the better-known François Couperin), William Byrd, Jakob Froberger, Dietrich Buxtehude, and – Suzuki’s specialty – Johann Sebastian Bach.

The program opens with Couperin’s Suite in A minor and Passacaille in C major, followed by Byrd’s Ninth Pavane and Gaillarde, from My Ladye Nevells Booke. Suzuki will then play Froberger’s Partita No. 12 in C major, “Lamento sopra la dolorosa,” and Buxtehude’s Prelude in G minor. He will close the program with two works by Bach: the Prelude and Fugue in E-flat minor, BWV 853, and the Partita No. 6 in E minor.

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments, one of the foremost institutions of its kind, preserves and exhibits musical instruments from antiquity to the present. Many instruments are maintained in playing condition and are featured in performances such as this one in the fine acoustic of the upstairs gallery. Masaaki Suzuki will play two of the Collection’s harpsichords: a Flemish instrument made by Andreas Ruckers in Antwerp around 1640, and an “expressive double” made in Paris by François Etienne Blanchet the Elder around 1740 (pictured at right).


Published April 5, 2011
Share This Comments