Cellist Jacques Wood gives a lecture-recital on historical performance and Beethoven May 5

Pianist Ryo Yanagitani joins Wood in performing sonatas on historical and modern instruments

The Yale School of Music will present a lecture-recital by cellist Jacques Lee Wood on Thursday, May 5, 2011 at 7 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College St., New Haven). Wood, a graduate of the School of Music, is a member of the Yale Baroque Ensemble and studies historical performance practice with early music specialist Robert Mealy.

In his presentation, Wood will examine issues of historical performance practice in Beethoven’s cello sonatas and will discuss how they apply to today’s performers. The lecture, writes Wood, “will discuss and demonstrate the idiomatic writing, musical syntax, and performance practices of the Classical period – ultimately suggesting these elements as viable inclusions to current interpretation.”

Along with pianist Ryo Yanagitani, Wood will illustrate the lecture with examples played on both historical and modern instruments. On historical instruments, including the School of Music’s fortepiano built by Rodney Regier, the duo will play Beethoven’s Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor and Sonata No. 3 in A major. Wood and Yanagitani perform frequently together as Duo Chrysalis.

Admission to the lecture-recital is free. MORE

Published April 15, 2011
Share This Comments

The Yale Baroque Ensemble makes its Carnegie Hall debut April 25

The Yale in New York series at the Yale School of Music presents the Yale Baroque Ensemble in its Carnegie Hall debut on Monday, April 25, 2011 at 8 pm. The concert will take place in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall (57th Street and 7th Avenue, New York, NY). The ensemble, directed by Robert Mealy, will perform a program of avant-garde music from the seventeenth century entitled Stylus Fantasticus.

Stylus Fantasticus celebrates the experimental and virtuosic chamber music of seventeenth-century Italy and Germany. The program will feature brilliant and rarely-heard chamber sonatas in the stilo moderno (modern style) by Dario Castello, Giovanni Paolo Cima, and Giovanni Battista Fontana, along with spectacular ensemble sonatas by Johann Schmelzer, Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber, and others.

Robert Mealy, described by the New Yorker as “a world-class early music violinist,” directs the Yale Baroque Ensemble (YBE). Harpsichordist Avi Stein and the current members of the postgraduate ensemble will be joined by YBE alumnni from previous years.

Tickets are $15–$25, and student and senior discounts are available. Purchase tickets online, call CarnegieCharge at 212 247-7800, or visit the Carnegie Hall box office.

About the Performers

The Yale Baroque Ensemble, directed by Robert Mealy, is a postgraduate trio sonata ensemble of two violins, cello, and keyboard dedicated to the highest level of study and performance of the Baroque repertoire. String players in the Ensemble go through an intensive one-year program of study, immersing themselves in the chamber and solo repertoire from 1600 to 1785. MORE

Published April 15, 2011
Share This Comments

Last Lunchtime Chamber Music concert of the season in Sprague Hall May 4

The Yale School of Music will present the last Lunchtime Chamber Music concert of the season on Wednesday, May 4, 2011 at 12:30 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College St., New Haven).

This free event features a colorful variety of ensembles, including excerpts from piano quintets by Brahms and Dvorak, as well as a trio sonata for winds by the baroque composer Jan Dismas Zelenka. The performers are graduate musicians who have come from around the world to study at the Yale School of Music. Violinist Wendy Sharp, a member of the School of Music faculty, is the director of the chamber music program.

Admission to the recital is free. For more information, visit the Yale School of Music’s website or call the concert office at 203 432-4158.

Published April 15, 2011
Share This Comments