[ Students & Alumni ]

Results of 2011 Woolsey Competition announced

April 18, 2011

The 2011 Woolsey Competition took place on Saturday, April 16, with twenty-two finalists from the Yale School of Music competing. The guest judges – violinist Sharon Yamada, hornist David Ohanian, and pianist André-Michel Schub – selected three winners:

Soo Ryun Baek, violin

Soo Ryun Baek
Bruch: Scottish Fantasy in E-flat major for violin and orchestra

Lindsay Garritson
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor

Kristan Toczko
Ginastera: Harp Concerto, Op. 25

The winners will appear as soloists with the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale next season.

The judges also awarded a First Honorable Mention to David Radzynski for the Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1. The Second Honorable Mention went to soprano Sherezade Panthaki for Mozart’s Schon lacht der holde Frühling and Vorrei spiegarvi, o Dio!.