Boris Berman opens Horowitz Piano Series Oct. 5

Program highlights Schumann and Brahms

Boris Berman.

Photo by Bob Handelman

Internationally renowned concert pianist Boris Berman, artistic director of the Horowitz Piano Series at Yale, opens the 2011–2012 season with a solo recital on Wednesday, October 5 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall. The recital will focus on music of German Romantic composers: Beethoven, Schumann, and Brahms.

Berman, praised by the New York Times for his “poetical refinement and intense musicality,” will open his program with Beethoven’s Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 31, no. 3. The first half will also include Schumann’s Three Romances, Op. 28, and Three Fantasy Pieces, Op. 111.

The second half will be framed by late works of Brahms: first the Three Intermezzos, Op. 117, and the Four Piano Pieces, Op. 119.

Each half will intersperse a short work by Schoenberg, a twentieth-century composer who nevertheless considered himself within the Romantic tradition.

2011–2012 Horowitz Piano Series

The 2011–2012 Horowitz Piano Series traverses a broad path through the core of the piano repertoire, with star performers such as Yefim Bronfman, artists drawn from the Yale School of Music’s faculty, a marathon of the complete Prokofiev sonatas, and a multimedia program featuring animations of Kandinsky’s visualizations of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition.


Published September 19, 2011
Share This Comments