Harp studio performs Dec. 3

Concert features music for solo harp plus harp duos

The Yale School of Music presents the harp studio of faculty artist June Han in a collective recital on Saturday, December 3 at 8 pm. The music will include selections for solo harp as well as for harp duo. Performers from the School of Music include Kristan Toczko ’12 MM and Grace Guo ’13 MM. Also appearing are undergraduate harpists Olivia Coates ’12 BA, Chelsea Lane ’14 BA, and Dana Schneider ’15 BA.

Han enjoys an active international career as a harpist and educator, and appears frequently with the New York Philharmonic, among other prestigious ensembles. Toczko, a winner of the 2011 Woolsey Competition, will perform the Ginastera harp concerto with the Yale Philharmonia and guest conductor Jahja Ling on April 20, 2012.

Canadian harpist and composer Caroline Lizotte composed her Raga for two harps in 2006. The work begins in the improvisatory style and strong modality of the Indian musical form. This unique and exotic piece demands a number of non-traditional methods of creating sound on the harp, such as percussive effects.

Henriette Renié’s Contemplation will be followed by Giovanni Battista Pescetti’s Sonata in C minor, transcribed for harp by Carlos Salzedo. This piece demonstrates the elegance of his style, which straddles the late Baroque and early Classical eras.

Toczko will perform the Harp Sonata by Paul Hindemith, who was on the Yale faculty from 1940 to 1953. Two French works for harp will round out the concert: Albert Roussel’s solo Impromptu, Op. 21; and Parvis, a duet by Bernard Andrés.

The concert takes place in Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street (corner of Wall Street). Admission is free. MORE

Published November 14, 2011
Share This Comments

Yale Baroque Ensemble performs at Collection Nov. 15

Members of the Yale Baroque Ensemble will give a baroque chamber recital on Tuesday, Nov. 15 at 5 pm at the Collection of Musical Instruments. Tess Isaac, baroque violin; and Colin Meinecke, baroque viola; will be assisted by Avi Stein, harpsichord; and Hannah Collins, baroque cello.

The recital will feature music of Castello, Biber, Corelli, and Bach. Robert Mealy, described by the New Yorker as “a world-class early music violinist,” is a professor of violin and early music at Yale, where he directs the Yale Baroque Ensemble as well as the Yale Collegium Musicum players.

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments is located at 15 Hillhouse Avenue. This concert is free and open to the public. For more information, visit music.yale.edu or call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158.

The Yale Baroque Ensemble, directed by baroque violinist Robert Mealy, is a postgraduate ensemble at the Yale School of Music dedicated to the highest level of study and performance of the Baroque repertoire. Using the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments’ set of new baroque instruments, members of the Ensemble go through an intensive one-year program of study, immersing themselves in the chamber and solo repertoire from 1600 to 1785 to create idiomatic and virtuosic performances of this music. The Yale Baroque Ensemble is presented in a series of concerts each year, including a special appearance last spring at Carnegie’s Weill Hall as part of the Yale in New York series and an Italian tour with the Yale Schola Cantorum. The Yale Baroque Ensemble is the resident ensemble of the Collection of Musical Instruments, where it performs recitals each term. MORE

Published November 14, 2011
Share This Comments