[ Concerts ]

Yale Baroque Ensemble performs at Collection Nov. 15

November 14, 2011

Members of the Yale Baroque Ensemble will give a baroque chamber recital on Tuesday, Nov. 15 at 5 pm at the Collection of Musical Instruments. Tess Isaac, baroque violin; and Colin Meinecke, baroque viola; will be assisted by Avi Stein, harpsichord; and Hannah Collins, baroque cello.

The recital will feature music of Castello, Biber, Corelli, and Bach. Robert Mealy, described by the New Yorker as “a world-class early music violinist,” is a professor of violin and early music at Yale, where he directs the Yale Baroque Ensemble as well as the Yale Collegium Musicum players.

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments is located at 15 Hillhouse Avenue. This concert is free and open to the public. For more information, visit music.yale.edu or call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158.

The Yale Baroque Ensemble, directed by baroque violinist Robert Mealy, is a postgraduate ensemble at the Yale School of Music dedicated to the highest level of study and performance of the Baroque repertoire. Using the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments’ set of new baroque instruments, members of the Ensemble go through an intensive one-year program of study, immersing themselves in the chamber and solo repertoire from 1600 to 1785 to create idiomatic and virtuosic performances of this music. The Yale Baroque Ensemble is presented in a series of concerts each year, including a special appearance last spring at Carnegie’s Weill Hall as part of the Yale in New York series and an Italian tour with the Yale Schola Cantorum. The Yale Baroque Ensemble is the resident ensemble of the Collection of Musical Instruments, where it performs recitals each term.


Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704):
Passacaglia (from Sonatae, 1681)
Sonata II in D minor (from Sonatae, 1681)

Dario Castello (fl. early 17c):
Sonata Quinta a doi. Soprano e violetta (from Sonate concertate in stilo moderno, Libro primo, 1621)

Archangelo Corelli (1653-1713):
Sonata Sesta (from Sonate, Op. 5)

Sonata Seconda a soprano solo

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750):
Trio sonata in D major (from BWV 1028)