Clarinetist Mingzhe Wang gives DMA recital Dec. 15

The Yale School of Music presents clarinetist Mingzhe Wang in a Doctor of Musical Arts recital on Thursday, December 15, 2011. Wang will be joined by three fellow School of Music alumni: pianist Jessica Osborne, violinist Katie Hyun, and cellist Mihai Marica. The recital, which features music by Mozart and Brahms as well as contemporary works, will take place at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall (located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street).

The concert opens with the Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43, by the Danish Romantic composer Niels Gade. It continues with Chinese Ancient Dances by Chen Yi, one of today’s most prominent women composers who (like Wang) grew up in China and now lives in the U.S.

The first half concludes with Mozart’s Clarinet Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 454.

American composer Elliott Carter will soon celebrate his 103rd birthday; Wang will perform his trio “Con Leggerezza Pensosa” with Hyun and Marica. The concert will conclude with Brahms’ Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 120, No. 2.

Admission to the concert is free, and no tickets are required. For more information, call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158 or visit MORE

Published November 29, 2011
Share This Comments

Yale Baroque Ensemble performs Dec. 4

Concert explores extravagant & virtuosic music of the German Baroque

The Yale School of Music will present the Yale Baroque Ensemble on Sunday, December 4, 2011. Directed by faculty member Robert Mealy, the ensemble will perform extravagant and virtuosic music of the German Baroque, including music of Biber, Bach, Telemann, and more. The concert begins at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Hall at 470 College St., New Haven.

The Yale Baroque Ensemble (YBE) is a postgraduate trio sonata ensemble whose members undertake a year of intensive study. This year’s members are Soo-Ryun Baek and Tess Isaac, baroque violin; Colin Meinecke, baroque viola; and Hannah Collins, baroque cello.

Robert Mealy, described by the New Yorker as “a world-class early music violinist,” directs the YBE. The ensemble will be joined in this performance by harpsichordist Avi Stein.

The concert will feature sonatas and overtures by Johann Sebastian Bach and Georg Philipp Telemann as well as the less-familiar Johann Rosenmüller and Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber. The ensemble will also perform two works by Johann Heinrich Schmelzer: “Die musikalische Fechtschul” (1668) and “Lamento sopra la morte di Ferdinando III” (1657).

In addition to featuring the full ensemble, the concert will also highlight each member in varied solos and duets. MORE

Published November 29, 2011
Share This Comments