News > Students, Faculty + Alumni
Back to News Browse
Students, Faculty + Alumni

Congratulations to the 2012 Prize Winners

The School held its annual Honors Dinner last Sunday, April 29. The event paid tribute to distinguished alumni and faculty, and honored outstanding students.

Prize List 2012


The Thomas Daniel Nyfenger Memorial Prize, to a student who has demonstrated the highest standard of excellence in woodwind playing.
Ginevra Petrucci

The John Swallow Prize, to an outstanding student whose artistry and dedication have contributed to the brass area.
Paul Futer


The Woods Chandler Memorial Prize, for the best composition in a larger form written during the year.
Hannah Lash
Loren Loiacono

The Rena Greenwald Memorial Prize, for the best piano composition written during the year.
Chris Rogerson
Daniel Wohl

The John Day Jackson Prize, for an outstanding chamber music composition written for strings, with or without other instruments.
Feinan Wang
Kathryn Salfelder

The Frances E. Osborne Kellogg Memorial Prize, for the best composition written in a contrapuntal style.
Jordan Kuspa

The Ezra Laderman Prize, for the best composition written for musical theater or voice.
Justin Tierney
Garth Neustadter


The Eliot Fisk Prize, to an outstanding guitarist whose artistic achievement and dedication have contributed greatly to the department.
Trevor Babb


The Charles Ives Prize, to an outstanding organ major.
Brent te Velde

The Julia R. Sherman Memorial Prize, for excellence in organ playing.
Stephen Buzard


The Charles S. Miller Prize, to a gifted pianist who has done outstanding work during the first year of study. (first-year student)
Henry Kramer

The Elizabeth Parisot Prize, to outstanding pianists in the School of Music.
Wai Ching Rachel Cheung
Larry Weng


The Broadus Erle Prize, to outstanding violinists in the School of Music
Cordelia Paw
Geoffrey Herd
David Radzynski

The Georgina Lucy Grosvenor Memorial Prize, to the violist in the graduating class whose performances while at Yale have exhibited the highest potential for success as a soloist or chamber musician in the field.
On You Kim

The Aldo Parisot Prize, to gifted cellists who show promise for a concert career.
Sung Chan Chang
Jurrian van der Zanden


The David L. Kasdon Memorial Prize, to an outstanding singer in the School of Music.
Vivien Shotwell


The Friedmann Thesis Prize, for a Master of Musical Arts thesis notable for its distinguished research, original perspective, in-depth engagement with its subject, and well-crafted presentation.
Daniel Wohl


Harriet Gibbs Fox Memorial Prize, to a student who has achieved the highest average during his or her first year at the School of Music.
Suzana Bartal
Daniel Schlosberg

Horatio Parker Memorial Prize, to a student selected by the faculty as best fulfilling Dean Parker’s lofty musical ideals.
Hye Jin Koh

The Phyllis Curtin Career Entry Prize, to graduating students who demonstrate exceptional promise and talent as artists to assist in launching their careers.
Andrew Brown

The Philip Francis Nelson Prize, for a student whose musicianship is outstanding and who demonstrates curiosity, talent, and entrepreneurial spirit in the many dimensions of the music profession.
Garth Neustadter

Presser Foundation Music Award, for an outstanding returning student, to advance his or her music education.
E. Lee Dionne

The Yale School of Music Alumni Prize, for students who have not only excelled in their respective fields, but have also made important contributions to the general life of the School.
Annie Rosen
Holly Piccoli
Arash Noori
Joo Hyeon Park
Wai Lau
Soojin Huh