Tokyo Quartet, Peter Oundjian receive Sanford Medals

At the Tokyo String Quartet‘s performance last night, Dean Robert Blocker awarded the Sanford Medal to current and past members of the quartet. The medal, which is the highest honor that the Yale School of Music bestows, is awarded for distinguished service to music.

Blocker presented the medal to the four current members of the quartet – Martin Beaver, violin; Kikuei Ikeda, violin; Kazuhide Isomura, viola; and Clive Greensmith, cello – as well as to Peter Oundjian, who was the first violinist of the quartet for fourteen years and remains a member of the School of Music faculty.

Earlier this season, the Tokyo Quartet announced that it would retire from the international concert stage in the summer of 2013. The ensemble, which has been active for over 40 years, has been in residence at the School of Music since 1976. Yesterday’s concert was the quartet’s last in Morse Recital Hall.

The Sanford Medal is named for Samuel Simons Sanford (1849–1910), a pianist and educator who was a member of the Yale music faculty from 1894 to 1910. Sanford was instrumental in the establishment of the School of Music within Yale University. He was also a proponent of the music of Edward Elgar, and his efforts contributed to Elgar’s receiving an honorary doctorate from Yale in 1905. Previous recipients of the Sanford Medal include Georg Solti, Pierre Boulez, Aaron Copland, Virgil Thomson, Mstislav Rostropovich, Sherrill Milnes, Marilyn Horne, Emanuel Ax, and Richard Stoltzman.

Published January 23, 2013
Share This Comments

Quicksilver performs at Collection of Musical Instruments Jan. 27th

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments presents the baroque ensemble Quicksilver on Sunday, January 27. The newly-formed group will present a program called Fantasticus: the extravagant and virtuosic chamber music of 17th-century Germany.

The stylus fantasticus was a hallmark of the 17th-century German avant-garde that emphasizes both the genius of the composer and virtuosity of the performer. Here, the program will feature the imaginative masterworks of composers such as Bertali, Rosenmüller, Schmelzer, and Biber.

Quicksilver is led by violinists Robert Mealy and Julie Andrijeski. The group’s performers have played together in some of America’s most distinguished early music ensembles, including the King’s Noyse, Musica Pacifica, Piffaro, and the Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra. Between them, they have appeared on well over one hundred early music recordings.

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments, one of the foremost institutions of its kind, preserves and exhibits musical instruments from antiquity to the present. Many instruments are maintained in playing condition and are featured in performances and demonstrations in the fine acoustic of the upstairs gallery, the venue for this performance.

The concert begins at 3 pm at the Collection of Musical Instruments (15 Hillhouse Avenue, New Haven). Tickets are $20, $15 for seniors and Yale staff, and $10 for students. MORE

Published January 23, 2013
Share This Comments

Yale in New York celebrates Mozart birthday Jan. 27

The Yale in New York concert series at the Yale School of Music celebrates Mozart’s Birthday on Sunday, January 27. The concert takes place at 7:30 pm in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall.

There will also be a preview concert inMorse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall on the Yale campus on Thursday, January 24 at 5:30 pm. The preview concert is free and open to the public.

Performed on the actual anniversary of his birth, 257 years to the day, Yale in New York celebrates Mozart in the context of composers he both influenced and was influenced by.

YSM faculty composer Aaron Jay Kernis playfully imagines Mozart’s travels through the United States, encountering its unique musical styles, in his three-minute string trio Mozart en Route (A Little Travelling Music).

The concert also features Mozart’s own transcriptions for string trio of three selected fugues by J.S. Bach, for which Mozart also wrote accompanying preludes.

Beethoven‘s seven variations on a theme from The Magic Flute will be performed by the faculty duo of Ole Akahoshi, cello, and Melvin Chen, piano.

It features an all-star faculty performance of one of Mozart’s masterpieces of the chamber repertoire, the Piano Quintet in G minor, with pianist Peter Frankl, violinist Ani Kavafian, violistEttore Causa, and cellist Ole Akahoshi.

Joining the faculty performers on the program are YSM student performers: violinists Nayeon Kim and Benjamin Hoffman, violist Kendra James, and cellist Arnold Choi.

Tickets at $15–$25 can be purchased at the Carnegie Hall box office (57th Street and 7th Ave.), through CarnegieCharge at 212 247-7800, or at Student and senior discounts are available.

Published January 23, 2013
Share This Comments