News >
Back to News Browse

Finalists in 2014 American Composers Forum National Composition Contest Announced

laurelloExcerpted from

The American Composers Forum, in partnership with So Percussion, have announced the finalists in the 2014 American Composers Forum National Composition Contest: Michael Laurello (Yale School of Music), Todd Lerew (CalArts), and Kristina Warren (University of Virginia).

Each of the finalists, who were selected from over 250 applications based in 39 states, will receive a cash prize of $1,000 and be asked to compose an eight- to ten-minute piece for So Percussion. The resulting pieces will be workshopped with the finalists in residence, and premiered by So Percussion on July 20, 2014 at Princeton University, as part of the So Percussion Summer Institute 2014. One of the works will be chosen to receive the final prize.

The National Composition Contest is open to composers currently enrolled in graduate and undergraduate institutions in the United States.