News > Concerts + Events
Back to News Browse
Concerts + Events

New Music New Haven concert Mar. 6 features Theofanidis, Laderman, Marshall

Ezra Laderman

The Yale School of Music presents a New Music New Haven concert on Thursday, March 6, 2014 at 8 pm. The concert features music by three faculty composers — Ezra Laderman, Ingram Marshall, and Christopher Theofanidis — alongside new works by graduate students in the school’s composition program.

Pianist Sean Chen '14AD, the Crystal Medal winner in the 2013 Cliburn Competition, will play Birichino, commissioned for the Cliburn from YSM faculty composer Christopher Theofanidis.

Two other featured performers are YSM faculty: Benjamin Verdery will play Ingram Marshall's Soe-Pa for amplified classical guitar with digital delays and electronics. Ezra Ladermans's June 29th for solo flute, performed by Ransom Wilson, will close the concert.

The New Music New Haven concert series showcases the talented young composers studying at the School as well as the elite faculty who nurture them. Student composers on this concert are Brendon Randall-Myers, Jesse Limbacher, Paul Kerekes, and Ian Gottlieb.

Christopher Theofanidis is the winner of numerous awards and fellowships, including a Grammy nomination for his work The Here and Now based on the poetry of Rumi. Ingram Marshall’s music is influenced by his intensive study of the Indonesian gamelan, which results in a slowed-down sense of time and the use of melodic repetition in many of his compositions. Ezra Laderman was Dean of the Yale School of Music 1989–1995 and is currently Professor of Music. He has written music for two Academy Award-winning films, six dramatic oratorios, music for dance, and seven operas.

The concert begins at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). Admission is free, and no tickets are required. For more information, call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158 or visit


About the Featured Composers

Ingram MarshallIngram Marshall, composer, studied at Columbia University and California Institute of the Arts, where he received an M.F.A. In recent years he has concentrated on music combining tape and electronic processing with ensembles and soloists. Ensembles and orchestras such as the Theater of Voices, Kronos Quartet, Bang on a Can All-Stars, Los Angeles Philharmonic, San Francisco Symphony, St. Louis Symphony, and American Composers Orchestra have performed his music. He has received awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, Rockefeller Foundation, Fromm Foundation, Guggenheim Foundation, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Christopher Theofanidis

Christopher Theofanidis (b. 1967) regularly writes for a variety of musical genres, from orchestral and chamber music to opera and ballet.  His work, Rainbow Body, which is loosely based on a melodic fragment of Hildegard of Bingen, has been programmed by over 120 orchestras internationally.   Mr. Theofanidis’ works have been performed by such groups as the New York Philharmonic, the London Symphony, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, and he has a long-standing relationship with the Atlanta Symphony and Maestro Robert Spano.  His Symphony #1 has just been released by that orchestra on disc.  Mr. Theofanidis has written widely for the stage, from a work for the American Ballet Theatre, to multiple dramatic pieces, including The Refuge for the Houston Grand Opera and Heart of a Soldier with Donna DiNovelli for the San Francisco Opera. Mr. Theofanidis is currently on the faculty of Yale University and has taught at the Peabody Conservatory and the Juilliard School.  He is also a fellow of the US-Japan’s Leadership Program.  Mr. Theofanidis’ upcoming works include the opera, Siddhartha, for the Houston Grand Opera, a new work for the Miro String Quartet for Chamber Music Monterey Bay in collaboration with the multi-media artist, Bill Viola, a solo piano work for the fiftieth anniversary of the Van Cliburn Competition, and a evening-length oratorio, called Creation/Creator for the Atlanta Symphony and Chorus.

Ezra Laderman is a distinguished and widely performed composer. His twelve string quartets, eleven concertos, and eight symphonies are notable contributions to the repertory. His commissions have included works for the New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony; and for the orchestras of Minnesota, Dallas, Louisville, Houston, Detroit, Albany, Denver, New Jersey, Indianapolis, Syracuse, and New Haven. He has written for such chamber ensembles as the Tokyo, Juilliard, Concord, Colorado, Lenox, Vermeer, Audubon, and Composers quartets and for soloists Yo-Yo Ma, Judith Raskin, Elmar Oliveira, Jean-Pierre Rampal, Samuel Baron, Sherrill Milnes, Emanuel Ax, Eugene List, Ronald Roseman, Bernard Garfield, and Ilana Vered, among many others. He has been chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts composer-librettist program, president of the American Music Center, director of the music program of the National Endowment for the Arts, president of the National Music Council, chairman of the board of the American Composers Orchestra, and president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He has taught at Sarah Lawrence College and at the State University of New York at Binghamton. He has received three Guggenheim fellowships, the Rome Prize, and has had residencies at the Bennington Composers Conference, the American Academy in Rome, and at the Rockefeller Foundation at Bellagio.