[ Announcements ]

Winners of 2014 Woolsey Concerto Competition announced

Darren Hicks, bassoon; Benjamin Hoffman, violin; Aleksandra Romano, mezzo-soprano to perform with Yale Philharmonia in 2014–2015 season
April 16, 2014

woolsey-philThe 2014 Woolsey Concerto Competition took place last Saturday, April 12. The three winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Darren Hicks, bassoon
Mozart: Bassoon Concerto in B-flat major, K. 191B

Benjamin Hoffman, violin
Korngold: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

Aleksandra Romano, mezzo-soprano
Montsalvatge: Cinco canciones negras

As winners, these Yale School of Music students will perform with the Yale Philharmonia during the 2014–2015 season. The judges noted that they were impressed with the high level of performance of all participants. Honorable mentions were given to Sharon Gayoung Cho, violin; Wenbin Jin, piano; Jens Peterson, tuba; Suliman Tekalli, violin; and Michael Zuber, bassoon.

The judges were Theodore Arms, Professor of Violin at the University of Connecticut; Thomas Stacy, retired english hornist for the New York Philharmonic; and Dale Lewis, Executive Director of the Usdan Center for Performing Arts.