[ Concerts ]

Faculty trio plays Czech chamber music Feb. 22

February 17, 2015
Ole Akahoshi, cello

Ole Akahoshi, cello

The Faculty Artist Series at the Yale School of Music presents a recital of Czech Chamber Music on Sunday, February 22 at 4:00 pm.

Faculty members Kyung Yu, violin; Ole Akahoshi, cello; and Wei-Yi Yang, piano, will play music by four Czech composers: Dvořák, Janáček, Smetana, and Suk.

The concert opens with Josef Suk’s trio Elegie, Op. 23. Next are two duos: Antonín Dvořák’s Four Romantic Pieces for violin and piano, Op. 75, and Leos Janáček’s Pohádka (A Fairy Tale) for cello and piano.

The last piece on the program is also an elegy of sorts: one of only four chamber pieces by Bedřich Smetana, the Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 15, is thought to be an elegy written just after his daughter’s death in 1855.

The concert takes place in Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Memorial Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). Admission is free.

Kyung Yu

Kyung Yu, violin

For more information, contact the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158, or visit the box office in Sprague Hall.

Wei-Yi Yang

Wei-Yi Yang