News > Concerts + Events
Back to News Browse
Concerts + Events

New Music New Haven features composer-pianist Vijay Iyer April 2

iyer-nmnhThe Yale School of Music presents a New Music New Haven concert featuring composer/pianist Vijay Iyer  on Thursday, April 2 at 7:30 pm. The concert features Iyer performing with the Brentano String Quartet, as well as new pieces by YSM student composers.

Iyer's Time, Place, Action, a 25-minute quintet for piano and strings, was written for the Brentano Quartet's "Fragments" project. In Iyer's words, the ensemble asked composers "to start with a fragment by an Old Master, and create something out of it. I used a short fragment by Mozart and built something."

The concert also includes new works by graduate students in the School of Music's prestigious composition program: Liliya Ugay's Pressout, Brian Heim's Real-Time/Action Study, and Krists Auzniek's Piano. The New Music New Haven concert series is directed by Hannah Lash and Christopher Theofanidis.

"To me it's not about styles or genres, it's about communities. My music comes from real-life connections with real people."
— Vijay Iyer

The concert takes place in Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Memorial Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). Tickets start at $10, $5 for students, and are available from the the Yale School of Music box office at 470 College Street, by phone at 203 432-4158, or online at


The concert will also stream live on the School of Music's website.


Grammy-nominated composer-pianist Vijay Iyer is the recipient of numerous honors, most recently a 2013 MacArthur fellowship, a 2012 Doris Duke Performing Artist Award, an unprecedented “quintuple crown” in the 2012 Down Beat International Critics Poll (winning Jazz Artist of the Year, Pianist of the Year, Jazz Album of the Year, Jazz Group of the Year, and Rising Star Composer categories), a “quadruple crown” in the JazzTimes extended critics poll (winning Artist of the Year, Acoustic/Mainstream Group of the Year, Pianist of the Year, and Album of the Year), the Pianist of the Year Awards for both 2012 and 2013 from the Jazz Journalists Association, and the 2013 ECHO Award (the “German Grammy”) for best international pianist. READ MORE