[ Announcements ]

Winners of 2015 Concerto Competition announced

Melanie Clapies, Adelya Nartadjieva, Sun-A Park will play concertos with the Yale Philharmonia next season
April 20, 2015
Adelya Nartadjieva

Adelya Nartadjieva

The 2015 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition took place last Saturday, April 18. The judges selected three winners who will perform with the Yale Philharmonia during the 2015–2016 season.  The winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Melanie Clápiès, violin
Berg: Violin Concerto

Adelya Nartadjieva, violin
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major

Sun-A Park, piano
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor

The alternate (if for whatever reason, one of the three winners cannot perform) is Curtis Biggs, trombone, with Christopher Rouse’s Trombone Concerto.

There were also two honorable mentions: Omar Dejesus, trombone, with Ferdinand David’s Concertino for Trombone and Orchestra, and Matthew Keown, marimba, performing Emmanuel Sejourne’s Concerto for Marimba and Strings.

Mélanie Clápiès

Mélanie Clápiès

The judges were very impressed with the high level of performance of everyone involved. The adjudicators were Hugh Murphy (vocal coach and opera conductor, Professor at SUNY Purchase Conservatory of Music), Edward Carroll (trumpet, Professor at Dartmouth College and CalArts), and Steven Tenenbom (viola, Orion String Quartet).

Sun-A Park

Sun-A Park