News > Students, Faculty + Alumni
Back to News Browse
Students, Faculty + Alumni

Three YSM composers win Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

Timo Andres

Three Yale School of Music composers are among the recipients of the 2015 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards: Timo Andres '07 BA, '09 MM (Palo Alto, CA); Katherine Balch (San Diego, CA); and Brian Heim (Brownsville, MN).

All 28 award recipients will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at Merkin Concert Hall in New York on May 21, 2015. The ASCAP composer/judges were Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, Sebastian Currier, Daniel Felsenfeld, Robert Paterson, Alvin Singleton, and Aleksandra Vrebalov.

Katie Balch

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Fund, The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards program grants cash prizes to Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition.

Brian Heim

Morton Gould served as president of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 to 1994.  An eminent and versatile Pulitzer Prize-winning American composer, Gould was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. 

To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.