[ Concerts ]

CANCELED: Brass of Yale performs at Carnegie Hall Jan. 24

Concert pays tribute to Yale composers from David Lang to Ezra Laderman
January 5, 2016
Yale Brass Trio

Yale Brass Trio

Update 1/23: We regret that, because of the severity of the blizzard, this concert has been canceled.

The Yale School of Music continues its acclaimed Yale in New York series on Sunday, January 24 with a program of music for brass. The concert will highlight the school’s acclaimed brass faculty as well as the contributions to the brass repertoire of past and present Yale composers. The program honors the late composers Ezra Laderman and Gunther Schuller, both of whom served on the Yale faculty.

The evening is anchored by the Yale Brass Trio, comprising William Purvis, horn; Allan Dean, trumpet; and Scott Hartman, trombone. They are joined by fellow faculty member Carol Jantsch, tuba, and numerous YSM students and alumni.

Ezra Laderman

Ezra Laderman

A former dean of the Yale School of Music, Ezra Laderman (1924–2015) joined the Yale faculty in 1988 and served as Professor of Music until his retirement in 2013. He also served as the president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. William Purvis, Allan Dean, and Scott Hartman will perform the New York premiere of his Brass Trio, written in 2005.

Gunther Schuller (1925–2015) is remembered as a composer, conductor, author and teacher who coined the term “Third Stream.” He taught composition at Yale from 1964 to 1967, after which he was appointed president of the New England Conservatory. William Purvis will conduct the New York premiere of Magical Trumpets, scored for twelve trumpets in eight different keys, and one of Schuller’s last pieces.

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer David Lang, a member of the YSM faculty, originally wrote Press Release in 1992 for bass clarinetist and Yale alum Evan Ziporyn. The January 24 concert presents the New York premiere of a new transcription for solo tuba, performed by virtuoso Carol Jantsch.

Carol Jantsch

Carol Jantsch

The program offers music from earlier centuries, beginning with a selection of antiphonal music from the German Renaissance, transcribed by Raymond Mase. The evening also includes Siegfried’s Rhine Journey (from Richard Wagner’s Götterdammerung), transcribed for eight horns by Richard Payne, and Claude Debussy’s Trois Chansons arranged for trombone quartet. The concert concludes with music by Gabrieli, conducted by William Purvis.

The New York concert takes place Sunday, January 24, 2016 at 7:30 pm in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall. Tickets are $25 general admission, $15 for students with current ID, and are available through the Carnegie Hall box office (57th Street & 7th Ave., New York City), online at www.carnegiehall.org, or CarnegieCharge: 212 247-7800.

There will be a preview concert on Thursday, January 21, at Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven); it will be a slightly shorter version of the New York program. Admission is free.


Will the show on January 21st be webcast? Thanks!

January 5th, 2016 | Delmar Williams

The January 24 concert will most likely be streamed online at music.yale.edu/livestream.

January 6th, 2016 | dana astmann