[ Concerts ]

Argus Quartet performs works by Yale faculty and alumni Feb. 2

Fellowship quartet-in-residence plays music by Bartók, Christopher Theofanidis, Andrew Norman, and more
January 29, 2016
Argus Quartet

Argus Quartet

The Yale School of Music presents a recital by the Argus Quartet, YSM’s fellowship quartet-in-residence on TuesdayFebruary 2 at 7:30 pmThe quartet will perform works which highlight the unique sounds that can be made by playing string instruments in unconventional ways. Among the composers featured will be YSM faculty member Christopher Theofanidis, and Andrew Norman ’09 AD.

The recital begins with Béla Bartók‘s String Quartet No. 4, which makes use of several extended techniques such as large glissandi, muted passages, and the famous “Bartok pizzicato,” in which the plucked string rebounds against the instrument’s fingerboard to create a loud slap.

Next, the quartet will continue with selections from Andrew Norman‘s Peculiar Strokes, which was premiered by the Argus Quartet in December 2015. Written to highlight and explore the unusual sounds that can be made with different types of bow strokes, the collection of miniature movements that make up Peculiar Strokes is an ongoing project to which Norman has been adding for several years.

After intermission, the program will continue with Visions and Miracles by YSM faculty composer Christopher Theofanidis. As with many of Theofanidis’ compositions, the movement titles are narrative: All joy wills eternityPeace Love Light YOUMEONE, and I add brilliance to the sun.

Closing the program is Thomas Kotcheff‘s scratch cradle, which was commissioned and premiered by the Argus Quartet in 2014. The quartet worked closely with Kotcheff throughout its composition and says that the work “will represent the true spirit of collaboration.”

The concert takes place at Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven), and is free and open to the public; no tickets are required. The performance will also stream live online.

About the Argus Quartet

The Argus Quartet is dedicated to reinvigorating the audience-performer relationship through new and innovative concert presentations of diverse repertoire – connecting with and building up a community of engaged listeners is at the core of the quartet’s mission.

Formed in the summer of 2013, Argus is receiving invitations from concert series throughout the United States and abroad. Recent performances include appearances at Carnegie Hall, Laguna Beach Live!, Encinitas’ Music By The Sea, the Hear Now Music Festival, Music Academy of the West, the Birdfoot Festival, and the Cello Biënnale Amsterdam. The quartet has also won several competitions including the Beverly Hills Consortium and the MTAC San Diego Competition.

Beyond its commitment to performing chamber music at the highest level, Argus aims to engage audiences in unique ways. This fall marks the inaugural season of Argus in LA, a concert series that reimagines many aspects of the traditional concert experience.  These handcrafted presentations have something for everyone: eclectic programming, world premieres, and exciting guest artists.

Education and outreach are an important part of the Argus Quartet’s mission. In addition to their teaching responsibilities at Yale, next season includes residencies at the Milken School, California State University Long Beach, and the Birdfoot Festival.

The members of the quartet are Jason Issokson and Clara Kim, violin, Diana Wade, viola, and Joann Whang, cello. WEBSITE