[ Students & Alumni ]

Sarah Ford ’16 MM joins Colorado Springs Philharmonic as principal horn

Lawrence Leighton Smith, past music director of Yale Philharmonia, was the first music director of Colorado Springs Philharmonic
June 20, 2016

Sarah Ford

Sarah Ford ’16 MM has been appointed principal horn of the Colorado Springs Philharmonic; her appointment will begin in fall, 2016. The Colorado Springs Philharmonic is led by Josep Caballé-Domenech who succeeded Lawrence Leighton Smith, the former music director of Yale Philharmonia. Smith was also the first music director of Colorado Springs Philharmonic.

Originally from Guilford, CT, Sarah earned her Bachelors of Music degree from Mason Gross School of the Arts – Rutgers University, where she studied with Douglas Lundeen, Denise Tryon, Eric Reed, and Jerry Peel. Her summers have been spent in programs such as the NSO Summer Music Institute, the Maine Chamber Music Seminar, the Pierre Monteux School, the National Music Festival, and Kendall Betts Horn Camp. In May 2016, Sarah graduated with her Master of Music degree from the Yale School of Music, where she studied with William Purvis.