[ Announcements ]

Argus Quartet welcomes new member

Violist Dana Kelley joins YSM's fellowship quartet-in-residence
January 19, 2017
The Argus Quartet, left to right: Joann Whang, Dana Kelley, Jason Issokson, and Clara Kim

The Argus Quartet, left to right: Joann Whang, Dana Kelley, Jason Issokson, and Clara Kim

The Argus Quartet, the Yale School of Music’s fellowship quartet-in-residence, has welcomed a new member, violist Dana Kelley, to the ensemble. “Dana is a truly dynamic performer with an inquisitive spirit, and we are deeply impressed by her musicianship and her personality,” the quartet said in a statement. “We are growing to admire her more and more every day, and it’s already clear that she’s going to put a major imprint on our quartet’s artistic voice and vision. We look forward to many years of working together, and we can’t wait to share her music-making with audiences at Yale and beyond.” Kelley joins violinists Clara Kim and Jason Issokson and cellist Joann Whang ’09MM in the quartet.

Kelley has won top prizes at the Sphinx Competition and the Irving M. Klein International String Competition and recently completed a fellowship with the prestigious Ensemble Connect (formerly Ensemble ACJW). She received her bachelor of music degree from the Blair School of Music at Vanderbilt University, where she studied violin with Cornelia Heard and viola with Kathryn Plummer, and earned her master of music degree from the New England Conservatory, where she studied with Kim Kashkashian. Kelley frequently performs with the New York-based chamber ensembles Orpheus and The Knights, and with the Boston-based group A Far Cry. She is a member of the viola sections of the Nashville and New World symphonies.

Dana Kelley, viola

Dana Kelley, viola

“I am thrilled to be the new member of the Argus Quartet,” Kelley said. “Chamber music has always been a passion of mine, and this is a great opportunity to share that love with three amazing musicians and individuals. Together, I’m looking forward to continuing to expand the quartet’s repertoire and finding ways to connect with their amazing audience. I anticipate a very exciting future.”

Kelley takes the place of violist Diana Wade, who has returned to Los Angeles, where the quartet was formed, to pursue other projects.

The newly reconstituted Argus Quartet will perform at the Yale School of Music on February 12 at 7:30pm in Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Memorial Hall (470 College Street). The recital will feature music by YSM alumni composers Jacob Cooper ’06MM ’10MMA ’14DMA, Christopher Cerrone ’09MM ’10MMA ’14DMA, and Augusta Read Thomas MM.



Your performance on April 20, 2017 in Sudley Recital hall was breath taking. Your selections were unique. I will never have such an exciting experience of string quartet performances in my life. You have achieved the excellence of being comparable to two other of the great quartets I have had the pleasure of hearing in person when they played live before my eyes and appreciative ears; the Guarneri and Tokyo quartets. My new goal is to be in the audience as often as possible when your are performing for the public. Sincerely yours, Robert Vogt

April 21st, 2017 | Robert Vogt