Past Symposia

Learn more about the discussion topics and formats of previous years.

[ symposium ]

2011 Symposium on Music in Schools

The third biennial Symposium on Music in Schools took place June 9–12, 2011 at the Yale School of Music. This Symposium focused on two main themes:

  • Integrating music into the general classroom
  • The relationship between visiting teaching artists and public school music teachers

Workshops included:

  • The Public School Music Teacher as Leader in Teaching Artist Programs – presented by Mark Churchill, Director of El Sistema USA, and Scott C. Shuler, President of NAfME
  • Distance Learning Technology in the Music Classroom: Leading Your School in Creating Programs with Schools in Other Locations – presented by Rachel Stevens, teacher at Co-Op Arts & Humanities High School in New Haven, and Fritz Benz, 2009 Symposium alumnus
  • The Role of the Music Teacher in the General Classroom – a panel featuring current Symposium attendees Jami Lupold, Cindy Puschak, and Thomas Scavone

On Saturday, attendees enjoyed a talk by Yo-Yo Ma and a performance by The Silk Road Ensemble, events presented in conjunction with the International Festival of Arts & Ideas.

At the awards banquet, each teacher received the Yale Distinguished Music Educator Award. The keynote address was given by John Merrow, Education Correspondent for PBS NewsHour and President of Learning Matters. The evening also featured a performance by our own All-City Honors Chorus.

2011 Yale Distinguished Music Educators

The 2011 Yale Distinguished Music Educators were selected from a pool of 330 nominees from 45 states. As in previous years, they were a diverse group: they came from 30 different states, including our first attendees from Alabama, Utah, Washington, and Wisconsin; taught vocal as well as instrumental music across myriad genres; and worked at the elementary, middle, and high school levels in urban, rural, and suburban school districts.

Please click the “+” buttons below for more information about each teacher.

Suzana Basaric-Ilic - Rockville, MD

Gary Bernice - Springfield, MA

Michelle Berra - Miami, FL

Carol Boehm - Red Bank, NJ

Dr. Jeanne Caldwell - West Des Moines, IA

Barbara Chusid - Madison, WI

Carmalyn Cook - New Haven, CT

Troy Davis - San Mateo, CA

Helen Demong - Saranac Lake, NY

William Dyer - Aberdeen, WA

Curt Ebersole - Old Tappan, NJ

Tom Elliott - Ardmore, PA

Stephen Fairbanks - Park City, UT

Duane Foster - St. Louis, MO

Donald Greene, Jr. - Hamlet, NC

Angela Griffin - Simsbury, CT

Aaron Hardwick - Virginia Beach, VA

Edward Henderson - Columbia, SC

Roger Henderson - Grinnell, IA

Megan Hennessy - Block Island, RI

Shawn Hofmann - Ridgway, PA

Patrick Jackson - Kirkwood, MO

Stefanie Janin - Bend, OR

David Kays - Gladstone, OR

Emilia Kister - Valley Stream, NY

Peggy Krasin - River Falls, WI

Troy Kryzalka - Troy, NC

Virginia T. Lam - Philadelphia, PA

Dr. Peter Lemonds - Duluth, GA

Dale Lhotka - Kodiak, AK

Jami Lupold - Pasadena, TX

Kathleen McMinn - Plymouth, MA

Deborah Mosier - Omaha, NE

Regina Noland - Tuscaloosa, AL

Desiree Overree - Katy, TX

Cindy Puschak - Scottsdale, AZ

William Robinson, Jr. - Maryville, TN

Peter Sampson - Whiteland, IN

Diane Sanfillippo - Schaumburg, IL

Thomas Scavone - Canton, CT

Roxanne Schwandt/Fauque - Belgrade, MT

Joani Slawson - Viera, FL

Lydia Smith-Lockwood - Springfield, OH

Holly Stumpf - Lexington, MA

Regina Talbot - New Rochelle, NY

Mairi Thompson - Pittsburgh, PA

Mark Vadnais - Barrington, RI

James Verdone - Whitinsville, MA

Jessica Wright - Shreveport, LA

Karen Zuidema - Wausau, WI