Yale Philharmonia features composer Martin Bresnick in concert of New Music for Orchestra Dec. 9

Other works in the Sprague Hall concert include Andy Akiho’s concerto for steel pans and Reena Esmail’s Aria with Hindustani vocalist Meena Shivram

The Yale School of Music presents its annual New Music for Orchestra concert with the Yale Philharmonia on Thursday, December 9 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven).

The concert will feature Pan Penseroso, a flute concerto by faculty composer Martin Bresnick. Renowned flutist Ransom Wilson, also a member of the YSM faculty, will perform the solo.

Also on the program are several pieces by second-year graduate students in the Yale School of Music’s prestigious composition department. Andy Akiho, whose virtuosity on the steel pans was just featured in a November 12th On Common Ground concert, will play the solo in his own Concerto for Steel Pans. Meena Shivram will be the Hindustani vocalist in Reena Esmail‘s Aria. Also on the program are Adrian Knight‘s Comblé and Omar Surillo‘s Partner in Crime. Adrian Slywotzky and Yang Jiao, conducting fellows at the School of Music, will each lead one work on the program. Shinik Hahm is the resident conductor of the Yale Philharmonia.


Published November 18, 2010
Share This Comments

New Music New Haven features guest composer David Felder

Concert also presents chamber works by Yale School of Music composers

The Yale School of Music presents a New Music New Haven concert featuring guest composer David Felder (pictured at right) on Thursday, November 4 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven).

The evening will open with chamber works by graduate composers in the Yale School of Music: Justin Tierney‘s ROTA, a fanfare for trombone quartet; Jordan Kuspa‘s Metronome, a humorous look at what can happen in rehearsal when good musicians get a little bit wild; Adrian Knight‘s the tears, for harp and electronics; Garth Neustadter‘s three-movement String Trio; and Hannah Lash‘s Last Time, which the composer calls “a disturbing and expressive piece for mixed chamber ensemble.”

The second half of the program will present two works by the guest composer. The Linden String Quartet will play Felder’s stuck-stücke, and a mixed ensemble of winds, percussion, and strings will play his partial [dist]res[s]toration. Christopher Theofanidis is the artistic director of New Music New Haven. MORE

Published October 11, 2010
Share This Comments

Three YSM graduate composers win Morton Gould/ASCAP awards

Adrian Knight ’11

Samuel Adams ’10MM, Christopher Cerrone ’10MMA, and Adrian Knight ’11MM are all among this year’s winners of the ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards . Yale College undergraduate Preben Antonsen ’13YC also received an award. Fay Wang ’10MM received an honorable mention.

The winning composers will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at The Times Center in New York on May 27, 2010.

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Memorial Fund, the ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards program grants cash prizes to young concert music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents, or holders of US student visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996. MORE

Published April 7, 2010
Share This Comments

New Music New Haven 11/19 features composer Jack Vees

Program includes Vees’s “Party Talk” and premieres by other Yale composers

Vees, Jack (action)The Yale School of Music presents a New Music New Haven concert featuring composer Jack Vees on Thursday, November 19 at 8 pm in Sprague Hall. The highlight of the concert will be Vees’s Party Talk, a piece written in 1996 for narrator and mixed ensemble of winds, brass, percussion, piano, organ, strings, and electric bass. The concert will also premiere music by student composers, including excerpts from Chris Cerrone’s opera Invisible Cities, Jordan Kuspa’s Piano Trio, Adrian Knight’s Work for Sixteen Strings, and Feinan Wang’s Pisces Monodrama–Chapter VII. Christopher Theofanidis is the artistic director of the New Music New Haven concert series. MORE

Published October 29, 2009
Share This Comments