Amphion String Quartet to join CMS Two

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center announced today the appointment of two outstanding young ensembles, the Amphion String Quartet and the Danish String Quartet, to its prestigious CMS Two program. The three-year residency will begin with the 2013–2014 season.

Three of the four members of the Amphion Quartet are alumni of the Yale School of Music: cellist Mihai Marica (’04 CERT, ’08 AD) and violinists Katie Hyun (’09 AD) and David Southorn (’09 MM, ’10 AD). The quartet’s violist is Wei-Yang Andy Lin.

In its announcement, CMS Two noted that both quartets were “chosen from an international pool of applicants by a distinguished panel of performers, educators, and artistic administrators” and and that “each is an award-winning ensemble with exceptional musical training.”

CMS Two offers its members three full seasons of participation in every facet of CMS activity, including performances on all stages during the New York concert season; national and international tour appearances; recordings on both the in-house label (CMS Studio Recordings) and the CMS Live! digital download series; concert broadcasts on American Public Media’s Performance Today, the CMS national radio series, and Live From Lincoln Center television broadcasts; and multiple educational outreach opportunities. MORE

Published January 31, 2012
Share This Comments

YSM alumni take home prizes in Concert Artists Guild Victor Elmaleh Competition

YSM alumni were among the winners of the recent Concert Artists Guild Victor Elmaleh Competition. The annual event is open to instrumentalists, singers and chamber ensembles performing classical and non-traditional repertoire.

Among this year’s winners were the Amphion String Quartet and the string quintet Sybarite5, two ensembles whose members include YSM alumni. All winners receive a two-year management contract with with the Concert Artists Guild as well as a New York recital opportunity. Sybarite5 also won the Sylvia Ann Hewlett Adventurous Artist Prize.

Three of the Amphion Quartet’s members are alumni: Katie Hyun ’09AD, violin; David Southorn ’09MM, ’10AD, violin; and Mihai Marica ’04CERT, ’08AD, cello. Performing in Sybarite5 is violinist Sami Merdinian ’06MM, ’07AD. MORE

Published October 27, 2011
Share This Comments

Yale quartets share first prize in 2010 Hugo Kauder Competition

Amphion String Quartet. Photo courtesy of Sammie Scheer.

The Amphion String Quartet and the Linden String Quartet were jointly awarded first place in the 2010 Hugo Kauder Competition, held at Sprague Hall on Friday, June 11.

The members of the Amphion String Quartet are Yale School of Music alumni Katie Hyun, violin; Mihai Marica, cello; and David Southorn, violin; as well as violist Wei-Yang Andy Lin, a DMA candidate at Stony Brook University. MORE

Published June 14, 2010
Share This Comments

Sixth International Hugo Kauder Competition to take place June 11, Winners’ Concert June 12

Amphion String Quartet. Photo courtesy of Sammie Scheer.

New Haven, CT, April 26, 2010 – The Hugo Kauder Society is pleased to present its 6th annual International Hugo Kauder Competition. Five string quartets (with musicians aged under 35) have been selected to perform in front of a live jury. The groups are the Hausmann Quartet from San Francisco, the Linden String Quartet and the Azalea Quartet, both from Ohio, the Bryant Park Quartet from New York, and the Amphion String Quartet from New Haven (pictured at right). They will compete for first, second and third place and cash prizes by performing classical music pieces composed by Hugo Kauder, as well as a selection of Classical, Romantic, and Contemporary works. The first prize winner will also receive a concert opportunity in New York City.

The distinguished Competition judges are Nicholas Eanet, first violinist of the Juilliard String Quartet; Ettore Causa, professor of viola at Yale University; and Jeffrey Zeigler, cellist of the Kronos Quartet. The Competition will be held at Sprague Memorial Hall, 470 College Street, New Haven, on June 11th, from 10am to 4pm. The Winners’ Concert follows on Saturday, June 12th, 2pm to 4pm, also at Sprague Hall. This year’s program is dedicated to the memory of Siegmund Levarie (1914-2010), distinguished musicologist and life-long friend and colleague of Hugo Kauder. Levarie was a founding member of the Hugo Kauder Society. MORE

Published May 3, 2010
Share This Comments

Amphion Quartet wins awards at the Plowman Chamber Music Competition

Photo courtesy of Sammie Scheer

The Amphion String Quartet – whose members include three alumni of the Yale School of Music – has won the Dr. Harry & Lina Berrier First Place for Piano & Strings and The Hugo & Lucy Vianello Audience Prize at The Plowman Chamber Music Competition. The competition, held on March 14th at the Missouri Theatre Center for the Arts, is one of the most prestigious events of its kind.

The members of the Amphion String Quartet are Yale School of Music alumni Katie Hyun, violin; Mihai Marica, cello; and David Southorn, violin; as wel as violist Wei-Yang Andy Lin, a DMA candidate at Stony Brook University. The Amphion Quartet has been invited to spend the summer at Music @ Menlo’s International Program.

Read an article about the Plowman Competition here.

Published March 18, 2010
Share This Comments