The Yale Cellos perform April 20 under the direction of Aldo Parisot

Music by Bach, Barber, Brubeck, & more, plus a world premiere by composer Angel Lam ’11AD

The Yale Cellos in rehearsal with director Aldo Parisot

The Yale School of Music presents the Grammy-nominated ensemble The Yale Cellos in its eagerly-anticipated annual performance on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 at 8 pm in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). Aldo Parisot will conduct the ensemble in a diverse program of Bach, Barber, Brubeck, and others, including the world premiere of Angel Lam’s The Emperor’s Eight Thousand Women Ghosts. Lam, an artist diploma candidate at the Yale School of Music, has twice won the Carnegie Hall emerging composer commission and has had her music premiered by Yo-Yo Ma. She will perform as narrator in the piece.

The Yale Cellos have long championed the classical compositions of Dave Brubeck; this concert will include the premiere of his Concordia as arranged for four cellos by the composer’s son, Matthew Brubeck, who was a student of Aldo Parisot. The program will also include Orawa by the Polish composer Wojciech Kilar (b. 1932), transcribed by Sascha Mandl.

Not everything on the program is new. Two Baroque works are Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and Handel’s organ concerto in G minor, both arranged by Claude Kenneson. The program will also feature two movements of Grieg’s Holberg Suite and, in honor of Samuel Barber’s centennial, the moving Adagio for Strings.


Published March 29, 2010
Share This Comments

Yo-Yo Ma premieres cello concerto by Angel Lam ’10AD

lam_angel_webCellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of music director Robert Spano, will present the New York premiere of Angel Lam’s Awakening from a Disappearing Garden on Saturday, November 7, at Carnegie Hall. The piece, a concerto for cello and orchestra, was commissioned by Carnegie Hall and was first performed in Atlanta Symphony Hall on October 15 and 16, 2009. This is Lam’s third commission from Carnegie Hall, which describes her as “a young composer whose work sounds both Chinese and Western, contemporary but also timeless.” MORE

Published November 4, 2009
Share This Comments

New Music New Haven: Yale Percussion Group performs David Lang

Concert also features diverse music by eight other Yale composers

langDavid Lang, renowned as the winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize in Music, is the featured faculty composer in the next New Music New Haven concert on Thursday, April 30 at 8:00 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Memorial Hall. The world-renowned Yale Percussion Group will perform music by Lang, who was appointed to the Yale School of Music faculty in the fall of 2008. Other works on the program cover a broad range of media and thematic content, from Timo Andres’s Fast Flows the River for MIDI keyboard and cello, to Richard Harrold’s Two Studies for Guitar Duo. Themes of water and ice are explored in Naftali Schindler’s Water Tropes for string quartet, sampler, and Tuvan throat singer, and in Ted Hearne’s THAW for percussion quartet, a piece that imagines the sensation of being immersed in a block of ice. MORE

Published April 6, 2009
Share This Comments