Tokyo String Quartet in Chamber Music Society’s first concert of the New Year

January 26 program includes music of Haydn, Barber, and Beethoven

tokyo_v_emailThe Tokyo String Quartet, one of today’s foremost chamber ensembles, will perform at the Yale School of Music on Tuesday, January 26 at 8 pm. The quartet has been in residence at the School of Music for the past 33 years and appears in recital every semester. Their performance this January will open with Haydn’s “Sunrise” Quartet in B-flat major, Op. 76 no. 4. In honor of the centenary of Samuel Barber’s birth, they will play the composer’s sole string quartet, Op. 11. The work’s second movement is familiar to many audiences in its arrangement as Barber’s beloved Adagio. Beethoven’s fiery String Quartet in E minor, Op. 59 no. 2, concludes the program.

The members of the Tokyo String Quartet are Martin Beaver and Kikuei Ikeda, violins; Kazuhide Isomura, viola; and Clive Greensmith, cello. The performance will take place in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven) and is presented by the Chamber Music Society at Yale; David Shifrin is the series’ artistic director. MORE

Published January 11, 2010
Share This Comments

Ole Akahoshi and Elizabeth Parisot offer a program of Bach, Brahms, Barber, and Schnittke

akahoshi_webCellist Ole Akahoshi and pianist Elizabeth Parisot will join together in a Faculty Artist Series recital on Monday, February 1, 2010 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). The program will range from the baroque to the twentieth century, beginning with a Bach work and concluding with Schnittke’s first sonata for cello and piano, written in 1978. In between are works by Brahms and Barber: Brahms’s sonata in D major, Op. 78, and – to mark the 100th anniversary of Barber’s birth – his cello sonata in C minor, Op. 6, from 1932.

This recital will be streamed live from the Yale School of Music’s media site.

Admission to the performance is free. MORE

Published January 8, 2010
Share This Comments