Shinik Hahm leads the Yale Philharmonia in two works of Richard Strauss and the Fourth Symphony of Brahms on Thursday, November 18

The Yale School of Music presents the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale and conductor-in-residence Shinik Hahm on Thursday, November 18 at 8 pm in Woolsey Hall (corner of College and Grove Streets, New Haven). The program features the music of Richard Strauss and Johannes Brahms.

Strauss’s tone poem Don Juan opens the evening, led by Adrian Slywotzky, a conducting fellow at the School of Music. The piece depicts the exploits of Don Juan, the same storyline that Yale Opera will explore in its winter production of Mozart’s Don Giovanni. Oboist Carl Oswald, a winner of the Woolsey Concerto Competition, will join the orchestra for Strauss’s Oboe Concerto in D major. Strauss wrote the concerto for John De Lancie, a GI stationed in Germany after World War II who in civilian life had played oboe in the Pittsburgh Orchestra – and who later would serve for 30 years as principal oboe of the Philadelphia Orchestra. The concert will conclude with Brahms’s Symphony No. 4 in E minor, considered by many one of the composer’s greatest masterpieces. Despite its dark tone, the work was acclaimed from its very first performance in 1885 and has been enormously popular ever since.

Admission to the performance is free. MORE

Published October 25, 2010
Share This Comments

Winners of the 2010 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition Announced

Carl Oswald, oboe

Winners will perform with the Yale Philharmonia next season

The Yale School of Music is pleased to announce the results of the 2010 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition. The competition took place on Saturday, April 10, and featured instrumentalists and vocalists selected by the faculty through departmental preliminaries. The three guest judges for this year’s competition were Julia Lichten, professor of cello at  the Manhattan School of Music and SUNY Purchase, and a member of Orpheus; Paul Rutman, professor of piano at The Hartt School; and Carol Wincenc, professor of flute at the Juilliard School and SUNY Stony Brook.

The three winners will appear as soloists with the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale next season.

The 2010 winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Nathaniel Chase
Koussevitsky: Double Bass Concerto

Carl Oswald
Strauss: Oboe Concerto

Tyler Simpson
Strauss: Notturno

Published April 16, 2010
Share This Comments

Chamber Music Society presents competition winners


The Chamber Music Society at Yale presents the winning ensembles of the Yale School of Music’s 2009 Chamber Music Competition in a performance on Tuesday, April 28, at 8:00 pm in Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). This showcase for the School’s renowned chamber music program will feature the trio Contrasts by the Hungarian composer Bela Bartok, with Benjamin Charmot, violin, Sergiy Dvornichenko, clarinet, and Wei-Jen Yuan, piano;  the Sextet for Winds and Piano by French composer Francis Poulenc, with Itay Lantner, flute, Carl Oswald, oboe, Xiaoting Ma, clarinet, Jeremy Friedland, bassoon, Leelanee Sterrett, horn, and Jason Wirth, piano; and Piano Quartet in G minor, Op. 25, by Johannes Brahms, featuring Anastasia Metla, violin, Mathilde Geismar Roussel, viola, Mo Mo, cello, and Juan Carlos Fernandez-Nieto, piano. MORE

Published April 8, 2009
Share This Comments