Four YSM composers among award recipients from American Academy of Arts and Letters

Jay Wadley

The American Academy of Arts and Letters recently announced the recipients of this year’s awards in music. Among the fifteen recipients of the five different awards were four current and past students of the Yale School of Music.

Harmony Ives, the widow of Charles Ives, bequeathed to the Academy the royalties of Charles Ives’ music, which has enabled the Academy to give the Ives awards in music since 1970.  Two Charles Ives Fellowships, of $15,000 each, will be awarded to Dan Visconti and Jay Wadley ’07MM, ’08AD.

Six Charles Ives Scholarships of $7500, given to composition students of great promise, will be awarded to Christopher Cerrone ’09MM, ’10MMA and Hannah Lash ’12AD, as well as Louis Chiappetta, Michael Ippolito, Bryan Jacobs, and Alex Mincek.

The winners were selected by a committee of Academy members: Ezra Laderman (chairman), David Del Tredici, Fred Lerdahl, Bernard Rands, Steven Stucky, and Yehudi Wyner. Rands and Wyner are both alumni of the Yale School of Music.

The awards will be presented at the Academy’s annual ceremony in May. Candidates for the music awards are nominated by the 250 members of the Academy.


Published February 18, 2011
Share This Comments