Alumni nominated for 2019 Emmy Awards

Marco Beltrami. Photo courtesy of the artist

In the National Geographic documentary film Free Solo, by Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin, Alex Honnold attempts to climb El Capitan—a 3,000-foot, perfectly vertical granite wall in Yosemite National Park—without ropes or safety gear of any kind. The music for Free Solo, by YSM alumnus Marco Beltrami ’91MM and Brandon Roberts, is full of tension and solemnity and connects viewers to the determination Honnold has in surplus and the protective fear he seems inexplicably not to have. The film’s cinematography offers all the perspective a viewer needs to appreciate that there is absolutely no room for error in the challenge Honnold has undertaken, while the music is full of the consequences he faces. For their contributions to the film, Beltrami and Roberts have been nominated for a 2019 Emmy Award in the “Outstanding Music Composition for a Documentary Series or Special (Original Dramatic Score)” category.

Thomas Newman. Photo courtesy of the artist

Thomas Newman ’77BA ’78MM is also up for a 2019 Emmy Award. Newman’s score for the Hulu series Castle Rock, created by Sam Shaw and Dustin Thomason and inspired by the fictional setting Stephen King created for many of his stories, was nominated in the “Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music” category. Newman’s foreboding music is a confirmation of what’s already known: that uncomfortable and frightening things await the viewer in Castle Rock.

Beltrami and Newman work in the world of film and television scoring, adding dimensions to stories that aim at the visceral. In addition to Free Solo, Beltrami has scored the Scream movies, A Quiet Place, and the 2019 TV series The Twilight Zone, to name just a handful. This Emmy nomination is his second. Newman has composed music for The Shawshank RedemptionRevolutionary RoadThe Help, and many other films. This Emmy nomination is his third. He won an Emmy in 2002 for his theme music for HBO’s Six Feet Under. For Beltrami and Newman, whose often-anonymous music has its audiences in movie theaters and living rooms around the world, awards like the Emmy are a public round of applause.

Winners of the 2019 Emmy Awards will be announced on Sunday, September 22.

Featured photo: Alex Honnold makes the first free solo ascent of El Capitan’s Freerider in Yosemite National Park, Calif. (National Geographic/Jimmy Chin)

Published August 2, 2019
Share This Comments

David Kurtz ’80MM wins two more Emmy Awards

David Kurtz and Dean Blocker

David Kurtz and Dean Blocker

Composer David Kurtz ’80MM added two more Emmy Awards to his collection this year. The Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards were presented on June 16th, 2013 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The team of Kurtz and Jack Allocco won for Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series, for their work on The Bold and the Beautiful on CBS.

Kurtz and lyricist Allocco also won the award for Outstanding Original Song for a Drama Series, for their song “Only Love Goes on Forever” on CBS’s The Young and the Restless.

Kurtz is the winner of several previous Emmy Awards for his work on television shows such as The Young and the Restless and The Bold and the Beautiful. He has also contributed to the music for movies including The Big Chill and Instant Justice. In May, the Yale School of Music honored him with the Sanford Medal.

Published June 20, 2013
Share This Comments

Garth Neustadter ’12MM wins Emmy Award

Composer Garth Neustadter ’12MM has won an Emmy Award for his score for the PBS documentary John Muir in the New World, an episode of American Masters. The score was recorded at Yale with members of the Yale Philharmonia, the Yale Symphony Orchestra, and the Linden String Quartet.

Neustadter, 25, is a student in the School of Music’s composition program, where he studies with Christopher Theofanidis. He will earn his Master of Music degree in May.

“Winning the Emmy was an almost surreal experience,” Neustadter told the Hartford Courant earlier today. He told the School of Music: “I had been extremely honored just to receive the nomination, so receiving the actual award was a humbling moment, and I am very appreciative of everyone involved in the project including members of the Yale Philharmonia, Symphony, and Linden String Quartet.” He received the award at the Creative Arts Awards and Ball, which is separate from the Sept. 18 telecast at which actors accept their statuettes.

Neustadter is a native of Wisconsin – as is TV producer Catherine Tatge, who “was looking for people from Wisconsin as much as possible,” Neustadter told the Courant. Muir, a pioneering advocate of preserving the American wilderness, grew up in Wisconsin after spending the first years of his life in Scotland. Muir co-founded the Sierra Club and was instrumental in preserving the Yosemite Valley and Sequoia National Park. MORE

Published September 12, 2011
Share This Comments

Composer David Kurtz ’80MM wins two Emmy Awards

Kurtz at the School of Music in 2004, with Dean Robert Blocker

When the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 37th annual Emmy® Awards, Yale School of Music alumnus David Kurtz added two to his collection.

Kurtz won for Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series for his work on The Bold and the Beautiful (CBS). As both composer and lyricist, he won Outstanding Original Song for a Drama Series for The Young and the Restless, also on CBS.

Previous accolades include Emmy Awards in 1989, 2006, and 2009, as well as numerous ASCAP Film & Television Music Awards for Most Performed Underscore.

In addition to his work on The Young and the Restless and The Bold and the Beautiful, Kurtz has contributed to the music for By the Sea, Alien Nation, Charles in Charge, and many other television productions, as well as movies including The Big Chill, Instant Justice, and Hunk.

Kurtz is a member of the Yale School of Music Board of Visitors.

Published June 28, 2010
Share This Comments