[ concerts ]

Clarinetist David Shifrin performs twentieth-century French music Dec. 15

The Faculty Artist Series at the Yale School of Music presents a recital by YSM faculty member and clarinetist David Shifrin on Monday, December 15 at 7:30 pm. He will be joined by Yevgeny Yontov, piano, and others, in a program of twentieth-century French music.


The recital will open with Poulenc‘s Sontata for Clarinet and Piano, composed in 1962. One of Poulenc’s last works, the sonata is dedicated to Swiss composer Arthur Honegger, a fellow member of the composers collective Les Six.

The concert will continue with two popular movements from Debussy‘s Children’s Corner Suite, originally written for solo piano. This version was transcribed for clarinet and piano by David Schiff. The first half of the concert concludes with another Debussy piece, his Première Rhapsodie. After Debussy took a position on the Paris Conservatorie’s Board of Directors, he wrote this piece as an examination for the school’s clarinet students. MORE

Published December 9, 2014
Share This Comments

Winds of France to serenade concertgoers Feb. 14

Featuring the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, “a jewel in this nation’s musical crown”

The Yale School of Music presents Winds of France, a concert of French chamber music, on Tuesday, February 14 – Valentine’s Day. The performers are part of the prestigious Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, called “a marvelous ensemble… committed and passionate” by the San Francisco Classical Voice. The concert takes place at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall.

“It would be hard to name more superior proponents of their instruments than the members of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center,” writes the Post-Gazette. Three of the performers are also Yale faculty: Stephen Taylor, oboe; David Shifrin, clarinet; and William Purvis, horn. Rounding out the ensemble are Alessio Bax, piano; Tara Helen O’Connor, flute; and Peter Kolkay, bassoon.

The concert features a variety of music for winds instruments, including two wind quintets: Jean Françaix’s Quintet from 1948, and Jacques Ibert’s Trois Pièces Brèves (three short pieces) from 1930.

The program also explores unfamiliar gems of the French repertoire, including Maurice Emmanuel’s Sonata for flute, clarinet, and piano, Op. 11 (1907) and Yan Maresz’s Circumambulation for flute (1993, rev. 1996).

All six performers will come together for the concert’s finale, Francis Poulenc’s Sextet for winds and piano (written 1932–39). MORE

Published January 18, 2012
Share This Comments