[ concerts ]

Guest conductor Jahja Ling ’85DMA leads the Yale Philharmonia April 20

Jahja Ling, conductor

The Yale School of Music presents the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale under renowned guest conductor (and alumnus) Jahja Ling on Friday, April 20. Harpist Kristan Toczko will be a featured soloist. The program will include music of Brahms, Ginastera, and Dvorak.

Jahja Ling, who studied orchestral conducting at the Yale School of Music (’85DMA), was resident conductor of the illustrious Cleveland Orchestra for many years and is now music director of the San Diego Symphony. He now returns to Yale to conduct his alma mater’s orchestra.

Of one recent performance, the Cleveland Plain Dealer raved, “Ling turned every moment into a compelling statement.” MORE

Published March 28, 2012
Share This Comments

“Passionate, uninhibited, and spellbinding” Brentano String Quartet performs Oct. 18

brentano-quartetPianist Ignat Solzhenitsyn joins to play Ginastera

The Oneppo Chamber Music Series at the Yale School of Music presents the Brentano String Quartet on Tuesday, October 18 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall. In addition to string quartets by Haydn, Beethoven, and Schubert, the ensemble will perform a quintet with pianist Ignat Solzhenitsyn.

The concert opens with the last string quartets that Haydn and Beethoven each wrote: Haydn’s unfinished Quartet in D minor, Op. 103, and Beethoven’s Quartet in F major, Op. 135. This is the piece in which Beethoven inscribed the existential question, “Must it be?” and answered, “It must be!”

Schubert’s posthumous Quartettsatz (movement for string quartet) in C minor, D. 703, will open the second half of the program.

The Brentano Quartet will then join forces with acclaimed pianist Ignat Solzhenitsyn to perform Alberto Ginastera’s Quintet for piano and strings, Op. 29, written in 1963. Solzhenitsyn is widely respected as an orchestral conductor, and as a chamber musician has collaborated with Mitsuko Uchida as well as the Emerson, Borodin, and St. Petersburg string quartets.

Published September 27, 2011
Share This Comments

Results of 2011 Woolsey Competition announced

The 2011 Woolsey Competition took place on Saturday, April 16, with twenty-two finalists from the Yale School of Music competing. The guest judges – violinist Sharon Yamada, hornist David Ohanian, and pianist André-Michel Schub – selected three winners:

Soo Ryun Baek, violin

Soo Ryun Baek
Bruch: Scottish Fantasy in E-flat major for violin and orchestra

Lindsay Garritson
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor

Kristan Toczko
Ginastera: Harp Concerto, Op. 25

The winners will appear as soloists with the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale next season.

The judges also awarded a First Honorable Mention to David Radzynski for the Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1. The Second Honorable Mention went to soprano Sherezade Panthaki for Mozart’s Schon lacht der holde Frühling and Vorrei spiegarvi, o Dio!.

Published April 18, 2011
Share This Comments