Pianist Jian Liu performs musical fantasies Nov. 8

DMA recital features music of Beethoven, Schubert, Mozart & more

Jian Liu

The Yale School of Music presents the pianist Jian Liu in a Doctor of Musical Arts recital on Thursday, November 8, 2012, at 8 pm. The program is an exploration of musical fantasies, including examples by C.P.E. Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, and Liszt.

Liu will open his performance with C.P.E. Bach’s Fantasy in C major, Wq 59/6 – H 284. Next he will play Beethoven’s Fantasy, Op. 77, one of the composer’s rare ventures into the loose, almost improvisational form.

The second half of the concert will feature Liszt’s Après une lecture de Dante: Fantasia Quasi Sonata, a virtuosic piece inspired by the reading of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy. The concert will conclude with Mozart’s Fantasy in D minor, K. 397, and Schubert’s “Wanderer” Fantasy in C major, D. 760.

The recital is free and open to the public; no tickets are required. For more information, call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158 or visit music.yale.edu.


Published October 25, 2012
Share This Comments

Violinist Sarita Kwok and pianist Jian Liu perform March 31

Diverse duos by Beethoven, Bresnick, Messiaen, and Prokofiev

The Yale School of Music presents a Faculty Artist Recital with violinist Sarita Kwok and pianist Jian Liu on Thursday, March 31, at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall (located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street, New Haven). Both Kwok and Liu are graduates of the Yale School of Music, and the Australian-born Kwok is now on the faculty of the Yale Department of Music. Liu, a collaborative pianist at the School of Music, recently performed at Carnegie Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale.

The duo will open the concert with Beethoven’s Violin Sonata No. 1 in D major, the first of the three in the composer’s Op. 12 set. They will then play Bird as Prophet, written by YSM faculty composer Martin Bresnick in homage to Robert Schumann. The first half will conclude with the Theme and Variations that the French composer Olivier Messiaen wrote as a wedding present for his first wife, the violinist Claire Delbos.

Kwok and Liu will conclude with Sergei Prokofiev’s dark, masterful Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80. Prokofiev himself said that parts of it “should sound in such a way that people should jump in their seats,” and described passages from the outer movements as “wind passing through a graveyard.”

Admission to the performance is free. MORE

Published March 8, 2011
Share This Comments