Jasper String Quartet returns to Yale for Dec. 11 concert with pianist Wei-Yi Yang

Program features music by Mendelssohn, Ligeti, and Schumann

The Oneppo Chamber Music Series at the Yale School of Music presents the Jasper String Quartet on Tuesday, December 11 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall. The program will feature string quartets by Mendelssohn and Ligeti, as well as Schumann’s majestic piano quintet with faculty pianist Wei-Yi Yang.

The concert opens with Mendelssohn’s String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80. One of composer’s last major works, this piece was written in the shadow of the death of his sister, Fanny.

In Ligeti’s String Quartet No. 1, subtitled “Metamorphoses nocturnes,” variations of the opening motif progress throughout the piece while exploring different textures and tone colors.

After intermission, pianist Wei-Yi Yang will join the ensemble for Schumann’s Piano Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 44. The piece, which showcases both conversational passages among the five instruments as well as passages setting the piano against the strings, helped establish the piano quintet as a serious genre.

The Jasper String Quartet was the Fellowship Quartet-in-Residence at the Yale School of Music 2008–2010, studying with the Tokyo String Quartet. The members of the quartet are J Frevogel and Sae Chonabayashi, violins; Sam Quintal, viola; and Rachel Henderson Freivogel, cello. MORE

Published December 10, 2012
Share This Comments

Idil Biret, sensational Turkish pianist specializing in Romantic music, performs in Sprague Hall

biret_blogIdil Biret, the Turkish pianist who has won renown for her interpretations of the Romantic repertoire, will perform a recital of Chopin, Ligeti, Liszt, and others in Sprague Hall on Wednesday, January 20, 2010 at 8 pm in Sprague Hall (470 College Street, New Haven). Ms. Biret is presented by the Horowitz Piano Series, directed by Boris Berman. Two transcriptions frame the evening, which opens with Brahms’s arrangement for the left hand of Bach’s Chaconne and concludes with Liszt’s transcription of the overture to Wagner’s Tannhäuser. The program will focus on the music of Chopin, including the Andante Spianato et Grande Polonaise Op. 22 as well as smaller works such as mazurkas and nocturnes. Biret will also play three etudes of György Ligeti and the Gondoliera and Tarentella movements from Liszt’s Venezia et Napoli, part of the Années de pèlerinage. Tickets to the performance are $11 to $20, $6 for students.

On Thursday, January 21 at 10:30 am, Ms. Biret will give a master class in Sprague Hall. She will work with three piano students from the Yale School of Music, coaching them in their interpretations. The master class is free and open to the public. MORE

Published January 7, 2010
Share This Comments