Event brings alumni together April 17 in NYC

Dean Robert Blocker invites all New York City-area alumni of the Yale School of Music to a special event on Tuesday, April 17. At Steinway Hall, alumni will gather for a reception and concert. The reception begins at 6:30 pm; the recital will begin at 8 pm.

The performance will feature four piano alumni of the School of Music: Wen-Yin Chan ’04MM, ’06MMA, ’12DMA; Han-chien Lee ’05MMA, ’06AD; Mimi Solomon ’99BA; and Lucas Wong ’06MM, ’07MMA, ’12DMA.

Chan and Lee will play music for piano, four hands: Mozart’s Andante and Variations in G major, K. 501, and the Overture and Scherzo from Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Wong will perform two movements (IV and V) from Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, as transcribed by Franz Liszt: Marche au supplice and Songe d’une nuit du Sabbat. Solomon will play Chopin’s Berceuse, Op. 57, and Bartók’s Piano Sonata, BB 88 (Sz. 80).

Alumni who would like to attend the reception and/or concert should contact Kelly Yamaguchi-Scanlon (phone: 203 432-1965).

Published March 14, 2012
Share This Comments

Pianist Lucas Wong performs music of Berlioz and Crumb

Recital features Liszt’s transcription of “Symphonie Fantastique” plus Crumb’s “Makrokosmos” for amplified piano

The Yale School of Music presents the Canadian pianist Lucas Wong in a Doctor of Musical Arts recital on Thursday, October 13, 2011 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall (located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street). Wong will play two substantial works: Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique, transcribed for piano by the virtuoso and composer Franz Liszt, and George Crumb’s Makrokosmos, Vol. II for amplified piano.

Symphonie Fantastique, subtitled An Episode in the Life of an Artist, is a popular and musically groundbreaking work. In five movements, ranging from the opening Reverie to the closing Witches’ Sabbath, it tells the story of a musician who despairs over an unrequited love. It’s the composer’s own story: he fell in love with an actress and poured his feelings into this colorful symphony that Bernstein called psychedelic.

In George Crumb’s Makrokosmos, the piano is amplified so that the audience can hear the sound effects: plucking or muting the strings, running a wire brush across them, resting a piece of paper or glass tumblers on them. Said Robert Miller, who premiered the work in 1974, “Makrokosmos (Vol. II) sounds as though the piano has become an orchestra unto itself.”

The recital is free and open to the public; no tickets are required. MORE

Published September 21, 2011
Share This Comments