[ concerts ]

Lutenist Nigel North performs 16th-century music at Collection Oct. 11

north_n-hThe Yale Collection of Musical Instruments presents celebrated lutenist Nigel North in recital on Sunday, October 11 at 3:00 pm. The program, entitled A Decoration of Silence, will include lute music of 16th-century Italy, France, and England.

Nigel North has been called “perhaps the greatest performer of the instrument of all time.” He has produced numerous recordings, including a four-volume collection entitled Bach on the Lute, and was a founding member of the ensemble Romanesca.

The concert will take place in the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments, located at 15 Hillhouse Ave. Tickets are $25, $20 for seniors and Yale employees, $10 with student ID. The event will also stream live on the Collection’s website. MORE

Published October 1, 2015
Share This Comments

La Viole Luthée: viola da gamba virtuoso Paolo Pandolfo performs at Collection Feb. 27

“One of the most brilliant and poetic of the instrument’s current exponents.”
– Gramophone

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments will present the renowned viola da gamba player Paolo Pandolfo and the Norwegian lutenist Thomas Boysen on Sunday, February 27, 2011 at 3 pm. The program, called La Viole Luthée, features viol-lute conversations from Renaissance improvisations to works by Jean de St. Colombe and Marin Marais. The two composers were both virtuoso viol players; St. Colombe is credited with inventing new left-hand techniques and adding a seventh string to the bass viol. Together, they represent the culmination of the viola da gamba as a solo instrument during the age of Louis XIV.

Pandolfo, one of today’s foremost players of the viola da gamba, returns to the Collection with Boysen, who will play theorbo (a long-necked relative of the lute) and baroque guitar. The duo will open the program with three Renaissance-style improvisations structured on pre-existing forms. Next comes a work from the Panmure Manuscript, a Parisian collection of lute music: St. Colombe’s Prelude and Chaconne in D minor. The first half closes with four pieces (Musette, La Georgienne, Plainte, La Guitarre) by Marin Marais from his Pieces de Viole, Books III and V.

Both composers lived in the same part of Paris, and after Colombe’s death, Marais memorialized him in Le Tombeau pour Monsieur de Sainte-Colombe (published in the second book of his Pièces de Viol). The concert concludes with St. Colombe’s Prélude, Chansonette, and Chaconne in C major, also from the Panmure Manuscript.


Published February 11, 2011
Share This Comments

Guitarist, lutenist John Schneiderman at Collection of Musical Instruments


The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments will present a recital by the critically-acclaimed John Schneiderman, a virtuoso on plucked instruments and a specialist in eighteenth-century lutes and nineteenth-century guitars. Based in California, Mr. Schneiderman is in demand as a soloist and chamber musician collaborating on recordings and performances throughout North America. Schneiderman will perform in the intimate venue of the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments, one of the foremost institutions of its kind, on Sunday, November 15, 2009 at 3 pm. MORE

Published October 15, 2009
Share This Comments