Woolsey Hall Competition Announces Winners

Suzana Bartal, piano

The winners of the Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition were announced Saturday.

The three winners will perform as soloists with the Yale Philharmonia during the 2012-2013 season. In alphabetical order, the winners are:

Suzana Bartal, piano
Bartok: Piano Concerto No. 3 in E major

The Handsome Dans, trombone quartet
Jeffery Arredondo, Hana Beloglavec, Benjamin Firer, Timothy Hilgert
Jan Koetsier: Concertino for trombone quartet and string orchestra

Esther Park, piano

Esther Park, piano
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor

In addition, the judges awarded three honorable mentions.

First Honorable Mention
On You Kim, viola
Walton: Viola Concerto

Second Honorable Mention
Melody Quah, piano
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2

Third Honorable Mention
Laura Keller, violin
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto

This year’s adjudicators were Shmuel Ashkenasi (violin), Ayako Oshima (clarinet), and Benita Valente (soprano). The competition took place this past Saturday, March 31. The judges were impressed with the high level of performance of everyone involved.

The Woolsey Competition is one of only two competitions at the Yale School of Music; the other is open to chamber music ensembles and offers the chance to perform on the Oneppo Chamber Music Series.

Published April 2, 2012
Share This Comments

[ concerts ]

YSM pianists survey Prokofiev’s nine piano sonatas

The Yale School of Music presents all of the Prokofiev Piano Sonatas in two pairs of performances: December 5 and 7 at 8 pm at Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Hall, and December 11 at 5:30 pm and 8:30 pm in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall.

The concerts, which are presented by Yale in New York and the Horowitz Piano Series, feature performers selected in a competition open to all graduate-level piano students. The events mark the publication of a new performance edition of the sonatas, edited by faculty member and Prokofiev specialist Boris Berman.

The first program (Dec. 5 at 8 pm in New Haven, and Dec. 11 at 5:30 pm in New York) will frame the project by presenting the first and last of Prokofiev’s nine piano sonatas. Naomi Woo ’13MM will perform the Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 1; Euntaek Kim ’13AD will play the Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14; and David Fung ’12MMA will perform the second version of the Sonata No. 5 in C major. The second half of the concert opens with the Sonata No. 9 in C major, Op. 103, performed by Esther Park ’12AD. The concert closes with the Sonata No. 4 in C minor, Op. 29, played by Scott MacIsaac ’14CERT. MORE

Published November 17, 2011
Share This Comments