[ in the press ]

Musical America’s New Artist of the Month: Michael Gilbertson

Michael Gilbertson | Photo by Ron Cohen Mann

Michael Gilbertson | Photo by Ron Cohen Mann

Musical America | By Susan Elliott

The annual Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute, which ran January 2529, introduced seven young composers whose works, chosen in a competitive screening, were poured over, polished, and finally performed before a paying public. All of these young men and women had something to say, but one in particular stood out.

Michael Gilbertson is a Juilliard grad currently working on his PhD [editor’s note: DMA] in composition at Yale, where he counts Aaron Jay Kernis and Martin Bresnick among his teachers. His Sinfonia, based, as he describes it, on “motives and themes from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons” and excerpted for the purposes of the Institute, combines multiple harmonic strains, in the early 20th-century jazz/impressionist vein, with a solid rhythmic core. Its canvas is vast, enriched with full but never overblown orchestral color. Lines are lyrical, subtly interwoven. Small wonder that Music Director Osmo Vänskä chose it to close the program that bore the fruits of the week’s work. MORE

Published March 3, 2016
Share This Comments

Vivian Perlis named Educator of the Year by Musical America

Musical America Announces 2011 Awards for Anne-Sophie Mutter, Thomas Adès, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Simon Keenlyside, and Perlis

The publication Musical America, now in its third century as an indispensable resource for the international performing arts, today announced the winners of its annual Musical America Awards, recognizing artistic excellence and achievement in the arts.

The announcement precedes the December publication of the 2011 Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts, which, in addition to its comprehensive industry listings, pays homage to each of these artists in its editorial pages.

The annual Musical America Awards will be presented in a special ceremony at Carnegie Hall on December 13.

Violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter was named Musician of the Year; Thomas Adès is Composer of the Year; Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos is Conductor of the Year; and Simon Keenlyside is Vocalist of the Year.

Vivian Perlis founded Yale University’s Oral History of American Music project 40 years ago. By now OHAM includes over 2,000 interviews with or about such major musicians as Ives, Copland, Bernstein, Cage, Ellington, Schuman, Carter, Adams, and Eubie Blake, among many others. Much of this material was used in her award-winning book on Ives and her two-volume collaboration with Copland on his autobiography. Her most recent book is Composers’ Voices from Ives to Ellington: An Oral History of American Music (Yale, 2005), written with Libby Van Cleve. In short, this project was nothing less than a revolution in the preservation of music history – all due to the foresight of this visionary woman.

Read the full announcement from Musical America HERE.

Published November 10, 2010
Share This Comments