Guest conductor Peter Oundjian leads the Yale Philharmonia in an evening of Russian music October 22

Program features Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5, plus Glinka and Koussevitzky

The Yale School of Music presents the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale and principal guest conductor Peter Oundjian on Friday, October 22 at 8 pm in Woolsey Hall (corner of College and Grove Streets, New Haven). All the music on the program is from Russia, with works by Glinka, Koussevitzky, and Tchaikovsky.

The program opens with the Overture to Glinka’s opera Russlan and Ludmilla. Sergey Koussevitzky’s Double Bass Concerto follows, in a performance by Nathaniel Chase, a winner of the 2010 Woolsey Competition. Koussevitzky, though remembered most for his conducting, was also a highly accomplished composer and double bass player who performed the work as soloist in its 1905 premiere.

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 in E minor will conclude the performance. The symphony uses a theme derived from Glinka’s first opera, A Life for the Czar, a small link between the first piece on the program and the last. Throughout the symphony’s four movements, this theme is gradually transformed from the darkness of the opening to the triumph of the finale.

Admission to the performance is free. MORE

Published September 30, 2010
Share This Comments

Winners of the 2010 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition Announced

Carl Oswald, oboe

Winners will perform with the Yale Philharmonia next season

The Yale School of Music is pleased to announce the results of the 2010 Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition. The competition took place on Saturday, April 10, and featured instrumentalists and vocalists selected by the faculty through departmental preliminaries. The three guest judges for this year’s competition were Julia Lichten, professor of cello at  the Manhattan School of Music and SUNY Purchase, and a member of Orpheus; Paul Rutman, professor of piano at The Hartt School; and Carol Wincenc, professor of flute at the Juilliard School and SUNY Stony Brook.

The three winners will appear as soloists with the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale next season.

The 2010 winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Nathaniel Chase
Koussevitsky: Double Bass Concerto

Carl Oswald
Strauss: Oboe Concerto

Tyler Simpson
Strauss: Notturno

Published April 16, 2010
Share This Comments