[ awards ]

Peter Gelb receives Sanford Medal at Convocation

Peter Gelb, General Manager of the Metropolitan Opera, was awarded the Samuel Simons Sanford Award — the highest honor that the School of Music can bestow—at Convocation on Monday, September 9. Below is Dean Blocker’s citation, followed by Peter Gelb’s remarks.

Award Citation

In August 2006, Peter Gelb was named the 16th General Manager of the Metropolitan Opera. His visionary and entrepreneurial leadership has revitalized not only the Met but also the entire field of opera. Actually, Peter is an artist’s artist who has pioneered a digital and live audience accessibility to opera that few could have imagined, let alone achieved. MORE

Published September 12, 2013
Share This Comments

[ events ]

Convocation welcomes new students, honors guests


From L to R: Robert Blocker, Stephen Adams, Denise Adams, Peter Salovey

At the School of Music’s annual Convocation on September 9, Dean Robert Blocker announced that the music complex centered around the renovated and expanded Hendrie Hall will be known as the Adams Center for Musical Arts when it opens in 2016. Stephen ’59BA and Denise Adams, benefactors of the School, were present to receive a framed architectural rendering of the future music center.

Convocation opens the academic year with the matriculation of the new students. Peter Salovey, in his first year as Yale’s president, installed the incoming class.

Peter Gelb, General Manager of the Metropolitan Opera, received the Samuel Simons Sanford Award, the School of Music’s most prestigious honor.  MORE

Published September 11, 2013
Share This Comments

[ awards ]

Peter Gelb to receive Sanford Medal at Convocation Sep. 9

Peter-Gelb-by-Dario-AcostaPeter Gelb, General Manager of the Metropolitan Opera, is to receive the Samuel Simons Sanford Award from the Yale School of Music. Dean Robert Blocker will make the presentation at the School’s annual Convocation on Monday, September 9.

The Sanford Award is the School of Music’s most prestigious honor. Previous recipients include such illustrious musical figures as contralto Lili Chookasian, pianist Alfred Brendel, choral conductor Robert Shaw, and clarinetist Benny Goodman. MORE

Published September 6, 2013
Share This Comments