Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio performs music of three centuries Nov. 8

“One of the best-blended, most sensitive, and intelligent piano trios in the world today.”
– New York Times

The Oneppo Chamber Music Series at the Yale School of Music presents the august Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio in concert on Tuesday, November 8.

The members of the trio, currently celebrating their thirty-fifth year together, are Joseph Kalichstein, piano; Jaime Laredo, violin; and Sharon Robinson, cello. All three lead accomplished solo careers; when they come together, they are the “foremost trio with the greatest longevity… bring[ing] to worldwide audiences their expressive and exhilarating interpretations” (Musical America).

The program opens with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 11. Next on the program, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich’s Piano Trio was first premiered by the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio in 1987 and appeared on their 1996 album Legacies; the trio has since performed three other premieres for the Pulitzer Prize–winning composer.

Piotr Illyich Tchaikovsky’s Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50, concludes the program. The work, written in 1881, is striking in its Romantic depth of emotion, carried through funeral marches and an ecstatic theme and variations, and also for its virtuosity.

The concert beings at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall (located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street, corner of Wall Street). Tickets are $25–$35, $15 with student ID. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit music.yale.edu or call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158. MORE

Published October 12, 2011
Share This Comments

YSM’s Charis Piano Trio wins strings prize at Coleman Competition

Helen (Hyerin) Kim, violin

The Charis Piano Trio – Helen Kim, violin; Yoonhee Ko, cello; and Jeong-ah Ryu, piano – won the top prize in the strings division at the Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition, held Saturday, April 24 in Los Angeles. The trio was coached by cellist Ole Akahoshi, a member of the Yale School of Music faculty as well as a graduate of the school.

In this year’s Coleman Competition, the Alice Coleman Prize was awarded to the Red Line Sax Quartet of the Eastman School of Music; the Coleman-Saunderson Prize for Woodwinds and Brass was awarded to the QuadrATOMIC Saxophone Quartet of Duquesne University; and the Coleman-Barstow Prize for Strings went to the Charis Trio.

The judges for the 2010 competition were: Susan Greenberg, flute; Marc Johnson, cello; Douglas Masek, saxophone; Edith Orloff, piano; and Michael Tree, viola. The competition took place on April 24th in Caltech’s Ramo Auditorium. The winners presented a formal concert on Sunday, April 25th. View the official results page HERE.

About the Charis Trio MORE
Published April 27, 2010
Share This Comments