Yale Philharmonia performs Nov. 1

Update, 10/31/2012: The performance of Koetsier’s Concertino, featuring the Handsome Dans Trombone Quartet, has been postponed to the Philharmonia’s January concert.

The Yale School of Music presents the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale on Thursday, November 1, 2012. Shinik Hahm will conduct the orchestra, and the Handsome Dans Trombone Quartet will be the featured ensemble.

Emmanuel Chabrier’s lively España starts off the evening. The orchestral rhapsody showcases a variety of sounds and textures, from flowing melodies to rhythmic dialogues.

The program continues with a performance of Jan Koetsier’s Concertino for trombone quartet and string orchestra. The performance features the Handsome Dans Trombone Quartet, one of the winners of this  year’s Woolsey Hall Concerto Competition. The members of the quartet are Timothy Hilgert, Hana Beloglavec, Benjamin Firer, and Jeffrey Arredondo.

Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 2, a classic of the Russian symphonic tradition, concludes the concert. Its four movements form a dramatic sequence, with a stormy beginning leading to a melodic climax that brings back the prominent motifs threaded throughout the piece.

The concert takes place at 8 pm in Woolsey Hall (500 College Street, New Haven). Admission is free, and no tickets are required. MORE

Published October 22, 2012
Share This Comments

Yale Philharmonia performs with Shinik Hahm, Lindsay Garritson Nov. 17

The Yale School of Music presents the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale in a concert featuring Romantic music on Thursday, November 17, 2011. Shinik Hahm will conduct the orchestra, and Lindsay Garritson will be the piano soloist. The concert takes place at 8 pm in Woolsey Hall (500 College Street, corner of Grove Street).

Mendelssohn’s Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” will open the concert, and pianist Lindsay Garritson will perform the Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor. Garritson, a graduate of the School of Music, appears as a winner of the Woolsey Concerto Competition. She is also a prizewinner in competitions such as the Montreal International Piano Competition, Mozarteum International Chopin Competition, and MTNA Young Artist Competition.

The second half of the concert will feature Rachmaninoff’s three-movement Symphonic Dances. The last work that Rachmaninoff completed, it showcases the orchestra’s rich variety of tone colors.

Admission to the concert is free, and no tickets are required. For more information, call the Yale School of Music concert office at 203 432-4158 or visit music.yale.edu.


The Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale is one of America’s foremost music school ensembles. The largest performing group at the Yale School of Music, the Philharmonia offers superb training in orchestral playing and repertoire. Performances include an annual series of concerts in Woolsey Hall, as well as Yale Opera productions in the Schubert Performing Arts Center. In addition to its season of six Woolsey Hall concerts, the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale has performed on numerous occasions in Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall in New York City and at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. In 2008 the Philharmonia undertook its first tour of Asia, with acclaimed performances in the Seoul Arts Center, the Forbidden City Concert Hall and National Center for the Performing Arts (Beijing), and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.

Shinik Hahm, the resident conductor of the Philharmonia Orchestra of Yale, has been a professor of conducting at the Yale School of Music since 2004. A dynamic and innovative musician, Hahm is sought after among North American, South American, European, and Asian orchestras. In 2006 Maestro Hahm completed his tenure as the Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Daejeon Philharmonic Orchestra in Korea, with which he toured the U.S. in 2004 and Japan in 2005. Hahm served as Music Director of the Abilene (Tex.) Philharmonic Orchestra for a decade (1993-2003), successfully converting the community ensemble into a professional regional orchestra.

As pianist and violinist, Lindsay Garritson has been touring the country and abroad since the age of four. As winner of several concerto competitions, Lindsay has performed with the St. Louis Symphony Youth Orchestra, University City Symphony, and the European Philharmonic Orchestra, among others. Most recently, she was awarded second prize in the 2011 Montreal International Piano Competition and first prize at the 2010 Mozarteum International Chopin Competition in Salzburg. She has participated in numerous music festivals including Aspen, Orford (Canada), and International Holland Music Sessions. Lindsay received her B.A. from Principia College and her M.M. and Artist Diploma from the Yale School of Music as a student of Boris Berman.

Published November 1, 2011
Share This Comments

Yale Brass Trio performs music from the Renaissance to Rachmaninoff

Nov. 1 concert also features pianist Mihae Lee and composer Ezra Laderman

The Yale School of Music presents the Yale Brass Trio in a Faculty Artist Series concert on Tuesday, November 1. The trio brings together three Yale School of Music faculty members who have all established high-profile careers of their own: Allan Dean, trumpet; William Purvis, French horn; and Scott Hartman, trombone.

For this performance, which explores music from the Renaissance to today, they will be joined by pianist Mihae Lee.

The concert will begin with early English music and works by the French Renaissance composer Guillaume Dufay. Ezra Laderman’s Trio for Brass, written in 2005, will offer a 21st-century contrast. Laderman, a faculty colleague of the performers, is a former dean of the School of Music, the president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a composer who has won three Guggenheim Fellowships, the Prix de Rome, and Rockefeller and Ford Foundation grants.

Fans of the Romantic period will enjoy Rachmaninoff’s Elegy for trombone and piano and Schumann’s Fantasy Pieces for horn and piano. The concert will conclude with tangos by Astor Piazzolla, which – along with the early Renaissance pieces – were transcribed for brass trio by Allan Dean.

The concert begins at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street (corner of Wall Street). Admission is free. MORE

Published October 18, 2011
Share This Comments