Pianist Peter Serkin to perform Schoenberg, Mozart, and more Oct. 22


Peter Serkin, piano

The Yale School of Music presents a piano recital by Peter Serkin on Wednesday, October 22, 2014 at 7:30 pm. The highly acclaimed pianist will present a program of works spanning several hundred years, from the Renaissance to the twentieth century.

From William Byrd to Charles Wuorinen, Mr. Serkin displays a unique prowess in performing virtually anything written for the keyboard. The American Record Guide considers him “one of the most perceptive and provocative pianists of his generation, as comfortable exploring the music of the past as he is in some of the most stimulating works of our time.”

Serkin will begin with a short piece, Ave Christe, written by the Renaissance composer Josquin and re-worked by Charles Wuorinen  (b. 1938). The program continues with two Renaissance works, Sweelinck‘s Capriccio (originally written for organ) and John Bull‘s Ut, re, mi, fa, sol, la: A Gigge (God Save the King) phantasy, originally for harpsichord. MORE

Published October 8, 2014
Share This Comments

[ concerts ]

Pianist David Kaplan Gives DMA Recital Oct. 24

The Yale School of Music presents the pianist David Kaplan in a Doctor of Musical Arts recital on Thursday, October 24, 2013 at 8 pm, at Morse Recital Hall in Sprague Memorial Hall, 470 College Street (corner of Wall Street), New Haven.

Kaplan-DavidKaplan, who has been lauded by The New York Times for his “striking imagination and creativity,” will perform music by Brahms, Bartók, Beethoven, and fellow YSM alumnus Timo Andres.

Brahms’ Seven Fantasies, Op. 116, frame the first half of the program, which also includes Schoenberg’s Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19, and Bartók’s Suite, Op. 14. The second half of the recital opens with How Can I Live in the World of Your Ideas? by Timo Andres ’07BA, ’09MM. Kaplan concludes the recital with Beethoven’s Sonata No. 26 in E-flat major, Op. 81a, “Les Adieux.”


Published October 7, 2013
Share This Comments

Boris Berman opens Horowitz Piano Series Oct. 5

Program highlights Schumann and Brahms

Boris Berman.

Photo by Bob Handelman

Internationally renowned concert pianist Boris Berman, artistic director of the Horowitz Piano Series at Yale, opens the 2011–2012 season with a solo recital on Wednesday, October 5 at 8 pm in Morse Recital Hall. The recital will focus on music of German Romantic composers: Beethoven, Schumann, and Brahms.

Berman, praised by the New York Times for his “poetical refinement and intense musicality,” will open his program with Beethoven’s Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 31, no. 3. The first half will also include Schumann’s Three Romances, Op. 28, and Three Fantasy Pieces, Op. 111.

The second half will be framed by late works of Brahms: first the Three Intermezzos, Op. 117, and the Four Piano Pieces, Op. 119.

Each half will intersperse a short work by Schoenberg, a twentieth-century composer who nevertheless considered himself within the Romantic tradition.

2011–2012 Horowitz Piano Series

The 2011–2012 Horowitz Piano Series traverses a broad path through the core of the piano repertoire, with star performers such as Yefim Bronfman, artists drawn from the Yale School of Music’s faculty, a marathon of the complete Prokofiev sonatas, and a multimedia program featuring animations of Kandinsky’s visualizations of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition.


Published September 19, 2011
Share This Comments

Wendy Sharp and guests perform chamber music for strings, including Schoenberg’s sextet Verklärte Nacht

January 16 program also features a new work by Christopher Theofanidis

sharp_blogViolinist Wendy Sharp will bring together several guest artists for a Faculty Artist Series concert on Saturday, January 16 at 8 pm in Sprague Hall. Joining Ms. Sharp will be Andrea Schultz, violin; Marka Gustavsson, viola; Carol Rodland, viola; Scott Kluksdahl, cello; and Mimi Hwang, cello. The program features chamber works of Kodály, Schoenberg, and Christopher Theofanidis. The repertoire spans just over 100 years, from Schoenberg’s seminal Verklärte Nacht from 1899 to Christopher Theofanidis’ new Summer Verses.

Theofanidis is a professor of composition at the Yale School of Music and is also the artistic director of the New Music New Haven concert series; his Summer Verses is a duet for violin and cello written this year. Kodály, who often worked alongside his Hungarian colleague Bartók, wrote his Serenade for the unusual trio of two violins and viola. Bartók wrote of the Serenade’s second movement: “We find ourselves in a fairy world never dreamt of before.” That phrase could also describe Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht, a string sextet from 1899. Written in the chromatic tonal language of late Romanticism, the work (its title translates to Transfigured Night) is based on a poem of the same name by Richard Dehmel. The poem opens: “Two people are walking through a bare, cold wood; the moon keeps pace with them and draws their gaze.” As the transfiguration falls over the night, the man says: “You are voyaging with me on a cold sea,/but there is the glow of an inner warmth/from you in me, from me in you.” MORE

Published January 5, 2010
Share This Comments