[ general ]

School of Music announces completion of its trio of websites

The Yale School of Music proudly announces the completion of its suite of websites, with the August launch of new sites for the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments (collection.yale.edu) and Yale Summer School of Music/Norfolk Chamber Music Festival (norfolk.yale.edu).

collection-website-screenshotThe Collection and Norfolk sites, along with the Yale School of Music’s website (music.yale.edu) launched one year ago, were created by a broad partnership that included School of Music staff members, the Yale Digital Collections Center, and Madison Mott.

The School of Music’s website has won two W3 silver awards and a silver award from the Connecticut Art Director’s Club. The site was also nominated for a Webby Award in the School/University category. MORE

Published November 3, 2014
Share This Comments

[ concerts ]

Yale Baroque Ensemble duo performs recital at Yale Collection of Musical Instruments May 8th & 9th

YBE_2013-14 The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments presents members of the Yale Baroque Ensemble  in a joint recital on May 8 and 9. Both events begin at 5:30 pm at the Collection (15 Hillhouse Avenue, New Haven).  

Baroque oboist Caroline Ross and baroque violinist Corin Lee, both members of the YBE, will play with harpsichordist Elliot Figg. The program, which will be the same both days, includes music by Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber, Antonio Vivaldi, and George Frederick Handel.  MORE

Published May 6, 2014
Share This Comments

[ concerts ]

Yale Baroque Ensemble performs virtuoso program May 5

YBE_2013-14The Yale School of Music will present the Yale Baroque Ensemble in a program of virtuoso music of the High Baroque on Monday, May 5. The concert takes place at 8 pm at Morse Recital Hall.

The performance will feature extravagant sonatas and concertos by Telemann, Bach, Vivaldi, Handel, and Geminiani. The concert is free and open to the public; no tickets are required.

The program opens with Telemann’s Quartet in G major from Musique de Table and continues with J.S. Bach’s Concerto in F minor for harpsichord and strings, BWV 1056. The first half concludes with Vivaldi’s La Follia, Op. 1, No. 12, from Suonate da camera à 3.

The second half opens with two sonatas: Handel’s Sonata in G minor, Op. 2, No. 5, and Geminiani’s Cello Sonata IV in B-flat major from the composer’s Op. 5 collection. Vivaldi’s Chamber Concerto in D major, RV 94, concludes the evening. MORE

Published April 22, 2014
Share This Comments

[ concerts ]

Ironwood offers a new look at Brahms April 9

Ironwood-photos-Nov-2012-12On Wednesday, April 9, 2014, the Yale Collection of Musical Instruments presents the ensemble Ironwood performing “A Different Sort of Brahms.” The concert begins at 5:30 pm at the Collection.

The recital program, acclaimed around the world, questions today’s assumptions about Romantic performance practice. Here, Ironwood presents the music as it would have been performed in the Romantic style of the 19th century.

A Different Sort of Brahms” is the result of the best-selling book Off the Record: Performing Practices in Romantic Piano Playing (Oxford University Press, 2012). The research involved listening to early recordings of pianists who knew Brahms and analyzing primary source documents about 19th-century performance styles. The program has received acclaim from New York to Australia, including at the 2012 American Brahms Society conference, and has been broadcast internationally. MORE

Published March 27, 2014
Share This Comments