Commencement 2017

As part of the School’s 2017 Commencement, Dean Robert Blocker presented three special awards. Violinist Sirena Huang, who had been enrolled in the master-of-music degree program and is now an artist diploma candidate, received the Harriet Gibbs Fox Memorial Prize, which is awarded to a student who has achieved the highest grade-point average during his or her first year at the School of Music. Composer and current doctor-of-music degree candidate Liliya Ugay ’16MM received the Horatio Parker Memorial Prize, which is awarded to a student selected by the faculty as best fulfilling Dean Parker’s lofty musical ideals. And violinist Wynton Grant, who earned his master-of-music degree in 2017, received the School’s highest excellence award, the Dean’s Prize, which is given to a member of the graduating class who is selected by the Dean in consultation with the faculty. Read about the prizes that were presented to students at YSM’s annual Honors Dinner.