Bruckner’s original Eighth Symphony

Yale Philharmonia

Principal conductor Peter Oundjian and the Yale Philharmonia perform the world premiere of the International Bruckner Society’s new edition of the composer’s Eighth Symphony. What the audience heard when the piece was premiered in 1892, and what audiences have heard ever since, was and has been the second version of the piece, the first having been deemed too avant garde and too difficult when it was completed in 1897. Yale School of Music Professor of Musicology Paul Hawkshaw, who serves on the International Bruckner Society’s editorial board and created this new edition from the original autograph manuscript, has said, “People will hear, for the first time, the piece as it was originally written. It has never been performed in this form, and this is the form that it was in when Bruckner finished it in August of 1887.” Yale Philharmonia principal conductor Peter Oundjian has said, “It’s going to be a very big moment.” Hawkshaw views the Oct. 27 concert as “a once-in-a-lifetime” event.

The program begins with a performance by percussionists Sam Um ’18MMA and Georgi Videnov ’15MM ’17MMA of Grace, a concerto for two marimbas composed in 2000, for Yale Percussion Group director Robert van Sice, by Yale School of Music faculty composer Martin Bresnick.

Bresnick: Grace, concerto for two marimbas
Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

Special Offer: FREE Student Tickets!*
*In order to purchase online, you must login with a valid Yale netID and password.
Students of other institutions must call or visit the box office and show student ID.

Tickets from $10, Yale Faculty/Staff from $8
$3 surcharge on tickets purchased at the door

Friday, October 27, 2017
7:30 pm | Woolsey Hall