News > Students, Faculty + Alumni
Back to News Browse
Students, Faculty + Alumni

Winners of the 2009 Woolsey Concerto Competition Announced

Katherine HyunThe Yale School of Music is pleased to announce the results of the 2009 Woolsey Hall Competition, held on March 28. In this annual event, the varied departments of the School of Music – from piano to winds and brass, from strings to percussion –  select a total of 20 finalists to compete for the privilege of performing as a soloist with the Yale Philharmonia in the 2009-10 season. Judges Melvin Chen, Robert Fitzpatrick, and Christopher Zimmerman selected three winners from the finalists.

In alphabetical order, the winners are:

Paul Won-Jin Cho: Nielsen, Clarinet Concerto

Ji-Yun Han: Bruch, Violin Concerto No. 1

Katherine Hyun (pictured): Walton, Violin Concerto

The judges also awarded Honorable Mentions to
(in alphabetical order):

Ji Hye Jung: Klatzow, Marimba Concerto

Marjolaine Lambert and Edwin Kaplan: Mozart, Sinfonia Concertante

Anastasia Metla: Shostakovich, Violin Concerto