News > Students, Faculty + Alumni
Back to News Browse
Students, Faculty + Alumni

Markus Rathey publishes book on Bach’s major vocal works

Markus Rathey

YSM Associate Professor of Music History and renowned Bach scholar Markus Rathey has published a new book via Yale University Press, focusing on Johann Sebastian Bach's major vocal works. Titled Bach’s Major Vocal Works: Music, Drama, Liturgy, the book provides an introduction to the music and cultural contexts of the composer’s most beloved masterpieces, including the Magnificat, Christmas Oratorio, and St. John Passion.

In addition to providing historical information, each chapter highlights significant aspects — such as the theology of love — of a particular piece. This volume is the first to treat the vocal works as a whole, showing how the compositions were embedded in their original performative context within the liturgy as well as discussing Bach’s musical style, from the detailed level of individual movements to the overarching aspects of each work.

To purchase and read more about the book, visit the book's page on Yale University Press's website.