News > Concerts + Events
Back to News Browse
Concerts + Events

Winners of 2015 Chamber Music Competition announced

Sprague Hall

The winners of the 2015 Chamber Music Competition have been announced. The winning ensembles will perform on a concert presented by the Oneppo Chamber Music Series at the Yale School of Music on Tuesday, May 5.

In announcing the winners, Wendy Sharp, the coordinator of chamber music at YSM, noted that the judges "were impressed with the overall high level of playing and great variety of repertoire. When picking the program, we considered not only the performances, but also what might make an interesting concert, the variety of work and instrumentation, and overall length."

The winners, in program order, are:

Poulenc: Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano
Bixby Kennedy, clarinet; Cornelia Sommer, bassoon; Feng Bian, piano

Britten: String Quartet No. 2 in C major, Op. 36
Bora Kim, violin; Yena Lee, violin; David Mason, viola; Allan Hon, cello

Dutilleux: Les Citations
Tim Gocklin, oboe; Steven Gamboa Diaz, harpsichord; Samuel Suggs, bass; Jeff Stern, percussion

Mozart: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, K. 478
Dae Hee Ahn, violin; Hyeree Yu, viola; Ji Eun Lee, cello; Wenbin Jin, piano

The winners concert will take place Tuesday, May 5 at 7:30 pm. The venue is Morse Recital Hall, located in Sprague Hall at 470 College Street, New Haven.

Tickets are available from the School of Music box office in Sprague Hall, 203 432-4158, or online. The event will also stream live online.